Book Review: The Cinderella Pact

The Cinderella Pact
by Sarah Strohmeyer
325 pages
Finished 1/2/08

Since I’m not the best at summarizing the plot of books (see previous book reviews) I’ve decided that it will be easiest to just quote the summary provided on the book. I know…I’m a cheater.

NOLA DEVLIN HAS A SECRET IDENTITY. By day she is an overweight, frumpy, and overlooked editor at Sass! (the “celebrity magazine with an edge!”), but by night she slips behind her keyboard and into her alter-ego: Belinda Apple. Belinda is thin, gorgeous, British and the author of a trendy advice column— she is, in effect, the latest Carrie Bradshaw. Not even her two best friends or her self-absorbed sister (who worships Belinda as the “sister she never had”) know her secret.

When “Belinda” jots off a column about how easy it is to lose weight, Nola is shocked when her best friends take her own lies to heart and urge her to follow Belinda’s weight loss program. Since Nola can’t reveal herself as the real Belinda Apple, she bites the bullet and joins her friends in making the “Cinderella Pact” — a last ditch attempt to lose weight (again!) and transform their lives for good.

But as the pounds come off, things don’t turn out the way the three friends expect. Their journey of self-discovery leads to the rediscovery of an old love and the unmasking of new problems. Meanwhile, Nola finds herself torn between two different men as she stomps out fires caused by her deception as Belinda Apple and falls in love with the man who just might be her prince — or the rat in coachman’s clothing.

The Cinderalla Pact was a pretty easy read and enjoyable enough. I’m not usually a “that could never happen in real life” kind of person, but I did find myself analyzing aspects of the plot that would have been really hard to pull off in the real world….which left me reminding myself that, given the title, I should expect a certain fairly tale-ness about it. The characters were entertaining, and it was interesting to see things from the perspective of one on a diet–something I’ve been lucky to never have to do. I did find the ending to be a bit abrupt….I turned the page waiting to read more, only to find that the book had ended. It was a perfect fairy tale ending, and I’m not sure why I enjoy that more in a movie than in a book. Other than the fact that it does contain some language, it’s a fun read that I’d recommend to my friends.

p.s….I hope you don’t mind that I’m stealing your formatting Beth 😉

2008 page count: 325

One Response to “Book Review: The Cinderella Pact”

  1. allison Says:

    This sounds like a fun quick read. Right now I ‘m reading ‘Then Life of Pi” by Yann Martel for the second time. It is SO good. The first 100 pages are kind of slow, but interesting. They set you up for the rest of book, so it’s really good to pay attention to all the little details. The rest of the book moves really fast. You don’t want to put it down. This book really makes you think. Oh, it’s is SO good. Here is a description from the internet:
    “Based on the best-selling novel by Yann Martel, is a magical adventure story centering on Pi Patel, the precocious son of a zookeeper. Dwellers in Pondicherry, India, the family decides to move to Canada, hitching a ride on a huge freighter. After a shipwreck, Pi is found adrift in the Pacific Ocean on a 26-foot lifeboat with a zebra, a hyena, an orangutan and a 450-pound Bengal tiger named Richard Parker, all fighting for survival.”

    Another of my favorites that I am going to use as the book for my next book club is “A Tree Grows in Brooklyn”. This book is set in New York and is about a girls experiences growing up. Kind of a historical fiction. It’s really cute, funny, and sad. I would definately recommend it.

    A third book I recommend is “Julie” by Catherine Marshall. I just finished it, and I found it really interesting. Here is the description I found on the internet:
    “Julie Wallace is just eighteen in 1934 when her father risks their life savings on a struggling newspaper and moves the family to a flood-prone Pennsylvania town.
    It is here a young woman’s convictions take firm root, as Julie finds herself taking sides when battle lines are drawn between desperate steelworkers and the mill owners who control their lives. And it is here where her heart and her loyalties are torn, divided between two special men. But when a devastating natural catastrophe becomes the ultimate test of courage and commitment, Julie’s remarkable inner strength will come to the fore — a strength born of faith and love.”

    If you like this book, another historical fiction by the same author is “Christy”. I haven’t read this book yet, but it’s on my list.

    I hope this gives you a few more books to read!

Leave a Reply

