A bit of a brag!

This might not impress some of my amazing cake decorating friends (Monika…are you out there??), but I have to admit that I was quite proud of myself for pulling this off.  I helped host a baby shower for a friend today and went out on a limb by making the cake myself.  I have never worked with fondant before, nor have I ever been very good at simply frosting a cake, so this was a stretch for me.  I got some pointers from some friends, had Joseph help me whip up the fondant (my arms are sore today from all the kneading it takes!) and put together the cake!  My first attempt was fine other than the fact that I went overboard on the food coloring and ended up with a pumpkin baby, and my second attempt had a few flaws, but I was happy enough with the final product.  Maybe sometime this year I’ll find some time to take cake decorating class….it was really quite fun!

6 Responses to “A bit of a brag!”

  1. Kate Says:

    that turned out so cute! 🙂 WTG!

  2. Michelle Says:

    I am impressed! That looks awesome! I’ve always wanted to take a cake decorating class, but of course have never gotten around to it!

  3. Nat Says:

    I am very very impressed! I never would have guessed that was homemade, it looks pretty professional to me! Great job.

  4. Beth Says:

    That looks awesome! Way to go!

  5. Marianne Says:

    Wow! I am so impressed! It looks fabulous! I should send you a few pics of the cakes I’ve made so you can realize how vastly superior you are (to me at least 🙂

  6. Natalie Says:

    Good job! That’s really cute! Where did you get the fondant recipe? I need one. I’ve been thinking of doing a fondant cake for Kenzie’s birthday in May.

Leave a Reply

