Book Review: Nights in Rodanthe

I’ve had a book on hold at the library for a few weeks, and I’m getting close to the front of the line, so I didn’t want to dig into something very deep right now and be stuck having to put it down for the other book.  So, I went with a Nicholas Sparks novel this time.  

Nights in Rodanthe
By Nicholas Sparks
212 pages
Finished 1/20/08

*

*

*

Summary:

At forty-five, Adrienne Willis must rethink her entire life when her husband abandons her for a younger woman. Reeling with heartache and in search of a respite, she flees to the small coastal town of Rodanthe, North Carolina to tend to a friend’s inn for the weekend.

But when a major storm starts moving in, it appears that Adrienne’s perfect getaway will be ruined — until a guest named Paul Flanner arrives. At fifty-four, Paul has just sold his medical practice and come to Rodanthe to escape his own shattered past. Now, with the storm closing in, two wounded people will turn to each other for comfort — and in one weekend set in motion feelings that will resonate throughout the rest of their lives.

This is one of Sparks’ shorter novels, so I finished it in just a couple of days. The thing I like about Nicholas Sparks is that his stories are easy, enjoyable reads….they don’t take a lot of thinking and analyzing. Nights in Rodanthe felt more like reading a short story than a novel, and the time flew by while I had it open. I wouldn’t put it at the top of my favorite books by Sparks, but the characters have the same endearing qualities of characters in his other books, and in spite of sadness that lingers at the end of this one, Nights in Rodanthe still leaves you with a warm, fuzzy feeling when you turn the final page.

 2008 Page Count:  1294

5 Responses to “Book Review: Nights in Rodanthe”

  1. Marissa Rasmussen Says:

    I am a huge Nicholas Sparks fan!!! He seems to have a great way of sucking the reader into the story so you can’t wait to turn the page. Have you read one of his newer ones, The Choice? My MIL got it for me for Christmas and it is a good one. It is a twist on his others that I have not read before.

  2. Michelle Says:

    I’ve heard many good things by the author but haven’t read any of his books. I’m going to check some out at my library. Thanks for the review!

  3. Tammy J Says:

    Copy Cat!!! LOL Yah, you know what I am talking about!!! hahahaha But yours looks better than mine!!! 🙂

  4. Patty Wilcox Says:

    Guess what I just downloaded this scrapbook kit the other day and was working on making a new header for my blog. It is a very cute kit. I didn’t even realize it was the sam kit till I saw your reply’s on eachother blogs.

  5. Tammy J Says:

    LOL, Jenn, I still love ya!! 🙂 Yah it is such a cute freebie kit, who wouldn’t use it!!?? It isn’t like I own it! 🙂 I love how your blog looks, it is way cute!!

Leave a Reply

