The Potty Chronicles: Part II

It’s been 3 1/2 weeks since Ryan said goodbye to the pull-ups.  I wish we could say that we’ve been accident-free, but since I can’t I’ll just say that it has been sooooo nice to only lug out two tons of diapers to the trash can every week instead of three. 

 That being said, Ryan has really been doing quite well with going potty.  He still needs reminders, but he went nearly 2 weeks without an accident until yesterday.  Yesterday, he had 4.  Why?  Who knows.  We had a little playdate, and he had two accidents there.  Since I only brought one change of clothes for him, after accident #2 I had to resort to a size 3 Huggies diaper, compliments of Owen & Emmy.  I was hoping that he’d find that revolting and insist on going home for clean underwear.  Instead, he pranced around to the other moms to show off his new digs, proudly proclaiming that he was a baby.  What next?  This boy never ceases to amaze me.

Despite some obvious discomfort (who wouldn’t find a papery diaper uncomfortable after 3 1/2 weeks of cozy Cars underpants?), Ryan was perfectly happy in his diaper, and was sad to say goodbye to it once we got home.  This morning, he didn’t put up a fuss over putting on underwear, but he did inquire hopefully over the possibility that he could be a baby again.  Unfortuantely for him, his mean ‘ol mom said no.

So, thanks to yesterday, the accident-free slate has been wiped cleand and we’re starting again.  Here’s to making it the full two weeks this time!

4 Responses to “The Potty Chronicles: Part II”

  1. Stacey Meservy Says:

    Yay for two weeks! I’m still at the point where I throw a party if we make it two hours. At this point, I am seriously thinking she may go to kindergarten in pullups! Way to go!

  2. Beth Says:

    That’s great of him to make it several weeks! I hope he continues to improve. Hopefully that day was just an off-day.

    We’re in the same boat as Stacey over here — well, not really; I have not been pushing AT ALL. Bad mommy. He wasn’t ready a few months ago, and I’ve asked him about it daily but not insisted. I think it’s time to need to try again.

    Anyway, I can’t tell you how much I appreciate the realistic potty-training stories. It seems like such a big hurdle to get over right now and I’m glad to hear that it really is a process.

  3. Natalie Says:

    Good luck! We’ve decided that tomorrow after church we’re taking the diaper off Kenzie and letting her run around diaper free (well, with underwear) so she’ll get potty trained. Nothing else seems to be working.

    I hope Ryan can be completely diaper free forever for you. 🙂

  4. Cynthia Says:

    Jonathan is having those bad toilet days too – Glad to hear that we’re not alone – I love your story – Very funny – Somehow, our stories don’t seem so funny to me – Maybe they will at his farewell someday – Hope Joseph is home safe and sound (and probably vowing never to visit my frozen tundra again)!

Leave a Reply

