The New Calling

I was pretty nervous last night by the time I got to the church.  I hadn’t had much time to think about the meeting during the day, but they were running behing with appointments, so I had plenty of time to think while I waited for my turn! 

When I got called in, Brother Beck asked how things were going at home and how Joseph’s calling was going.  He started asking specifically about what nights he’s involved with missionary work, and I was immediately relieved to realize that Gospel Doctrine teacher was not what I’d be asked to do!  So, my new calling, which is one step up from my previous speculations, is 2nd counselor in the YW presidency.  It will be a busy calling, but I’m actually pretty excited about it.  We’ll definately have to do some juggling with the kids, especially while we’re keeping them home from church, but the YW president is also my visiting teacher, so she knows our situation, and I’m sure she’ll be good to work with me.

When we were keeping Ryan home from church during his first winter, Joseph was called as the Elder’s Quorum President and I was put in the Primary presidency, so I know that the circumstances could be trickier!  At least this time we don’t both have Sunday callings!

7 Responses to “The New Calling”

  1. Marissa Rasmussen Says:

    Look at it this way: you know have a lot of free babysitting:) You will do a great job!!!

  2. Sarah A Says:

    That should be a fun calling! I’m sure you will do great in YW! Teaching Gospel Doctrine is seriously my worst nightmare!

  3. Marissa Rasmussen Says:

    Please pardon my horrible spelling. Now not know:)

  4. Michelle Says:

    Congrats! You will do awesome!

  5. becky Hansen Says:

    Congrats on your new calling! You will do awesome in the YW. Miles just got put in as the YM President and is loving it.

  6. Michelle Says:

    Ooh – I just saw that you are reading The Thirteenth Tale! I LOVED that book!!! I can’t wait to hear what you think of it – enjoy! It was such a cool story!

  7. Beth Says:

    I’m the YW secretary in our ward and am really enjoying it. Congrats on your new calling! I would have a hard time with the Wednesday nights, but I’m sure you guys can make it work — good luck!

Leave a Reply

