Pillowcase Dress

I saw this dress on a forum I visit and thought it was pretty cute. It looked easy enough, so–in spite of my minimal sewing skills–I decided to give it a try. The idea is that you use a pillowcase and just add arm holes and a drawstring casing to put it together. I didn’t dare cut into a vintage pillowcase until I knew was I was doing, so I started with a piece of scrap fabric that I had in my stash. Here’s my final result:

Isn’t she adorable with her bed-head??  It’s a bit big on her now, but hopefully by the time it’s warm enough to actually wear it, it will fit better.  And, I think the ribbons are a bit wide….maybe next time I’ll go with a bit smaller width.

I had a little trouble with the first pattern I used. I got halfway through and the author ended the pattern with “finish the rest of the dress per the instructions in the magazine”….but left no other info. So, I had to go searching for another pattern to finish up with. THIS is the one I ended up going with, and if I could figure it out, I’m sure everyone else can too! Just don’t look too closely at my stitching 😆 . I’ve got one more piece of scrap fabric that I think I’ll make another with before actually cutting into my pillowcase….a little extra practice never hurts!  It was a fun project anyway, and now that I’ve got a feel for how to make it, I think I should be able to whip the next one out in about 30 minutes.

11 Responses to “Pillowcase Dress”

  1. Stacey Says:

    Aww,that is way cute! She is a doll!

  2. Tammy J Says:

    Oh MY GOODNESS!!! I thought it was cute just hanging there, but then to see Emmy wear it, soooooo adorable!! I need to do one for Maliyah! Where did you get the pillowcase?

  3. MC Says:

    very cute dress! I wish I could be so creative…. Can you make one for me 🙂

  4. Mel Says:

    I love it Jenn. I wish I could look that cute in a pillow case….life really is great when you are one.

  5. Katie Says:

    That is too cute!!

  6. Lorie Says:

    That is too cute and it looks cute on her too!

  7. Ann Says:

    I love the dress, Jenn! I remember, back before having a baby, my sister and I made skirts for us out of pillowcases! So maybe you and Emmy could have matching outfits! 🙂 She is adorable, by the way. I hope the twins are feeling better!

  8. Holly Says:

    Too cute! I can’t sew anything creative, and I only have boys anyway. You did a great job. I’m not sure how I found my way to your blog, but it’s great!

  9. carrot jello Says:

    That is darling!

  10. Emily Harwood Says:

    Jenn, you are always doing such creative things! It’s fun to be a part of the blogging world so we can keep in touch! Everyone looks so cute!

  11. Nat Says:

    very cute idea! Seem simple enough, she does look cute in it.

Leave a Reply

