Words of Wisdom

It’s not uncommon at all for Ryan to request popcorn or cookies or ice cream for a meal, particularly breakfast.  He knows he won’t get them, but he asks most mornings anyway.  This morning was a chaotic one at our house….Ryan was whining that he was hungry and needed breakfast, and Owen was WAILING that he was hungry and needed breakfast.  I told Ryan that I needed to get Owen’s breakfast first and then it would be his turn.  I noticed a bag of popcorn on the counter that he had brought home from preschool yesterday and against my better judgement decided to offer it to him while he waited for his turn.  He immediately quit whining and said to me, in a very matter-of-fact tone, “Mom, popcorn is not a breakfast food.  It is a very special treat.”  Ookaay 😆 I guess that not everything I say goes in one ear and out the other. And, true to his word, that kid wouldn’t touch the popcorn until after he’d had a decent breakfast!

7 Responses to “Words of Wisdom”

  1. Stacey Says:

    How funny! The only things my kids remember are the things I would prefer they forget.

  2. Kate Says:

    LOL . . . that’s awesome Jenn! 🙂

  3. jami Says:

    He is so cute, I love hearing all of his funny things he does!! You guys are in trouble, he is to smart for is own good!!

  4. Sarah Says:

    Dude, so that’s what I did wrong. Marcus eats just about whatever he wants for breakfast because the only thing he ever wants is Lucky Charms and grapes. That’s pretty balanced right? Wait, maybe I shouldn’t have admitted that.

  5. Mikelle Says:

    I love it! Spencer once came to me with a bag of brown sugar and asked me to put it in a bowl for him!!

  6. Em Says:

    That’s cute. Good for him for not eating it–I totally would have taken advantage of the situation.

  7. becky Hansen Says:

    Good for him! My kids would have eaten the popcorn and then ask for sugar cereal. My kids are love sugar! I love your fireplace. You guys are so good at changning things. I need you to come and do my house, then you could see Alaska.

Leave a Reply

