A very merry unbirthday to you!

Yes you!  There–now you’ve all got that song stuck in your head with me 😉

Because Ryan has a summer birthday, his preschool teacher assigned him an “unbirthday” and allowed him to bring in a treat to share with his classmates. The big day was Monday. And I completely forgot. As soon as I pulled out of the driveway, I rememberd that I was in need of treats for 16 kids. I had debated the week before on whether I should make it a big deal for Ryan and let him help put together treat bags…I felt that he wouldn’t understand the idea of an “unbirthday” and be upset that he wasn’t coming home to cake and ice cream and presents. Maybe my memory failed me for that reason, because instead of having cute little treat bags like everyone else shares on their birthday, Ryan got to share a box of pre-packaged Rice Krispie treats. We were already running late, so I dropped him off at school, ran across the street to the grocery store, ran back to the preschool and tossed the box at one of the aides. When I picked him up afterward, he was sporting a new birthday crown and a Super Helper sticker. He was so pleased to tell me that it was his unbirthday and that he had shared treats with his friends. Whew!  My bad mommy moment went undetected!

Now, for the last 2 1/2 days, it’s been Ryan’s unbirthday. He reminds me multiple times a day. Thankfully he hasn’t quite equated an unbirthday with a birthday, so we haven’t had tantrums over the missing aspects of such a special day, and the crown has proved to be a successful bribe for good behavior!

2 Responses to “A very merry unbirthday to you!”

  1. Brenda Dart Says:

    Look at that cute unbirthday boy!! If I were there I’d give him a big unbirthday kiss. I think Rice Krispie treats work anytime, even if they are pre-packaged. It doesn’t take much to please an almost 4 year old.

  2. Joseph Says:

    Mom, I am so proud of you for figuring out how to leave a comment!!!! You little techno-grandma!

Leave a Reply

