We March for Zoey

Zoey

Zoey was born March 5, 2003 at 28 weeks gestation and for unknown reasons was stillborn.  She weighed 2 lbs. 4 oz.  and was 13 inches long.  Even though our experience with her was very different than with the other kids, I often think about what a stressful NICU experience it would have been with a 28 weeker. 

When I visit the NICU to volunteer and I see babies as tiny as she was –or smaller–I just stare in amazement that babies can come into the world so itty bitty and helpless and still survive.  At the time of her birth, what I knew about prematurity was just what I had learned while getting my degree in special education–which was, for the most part, all the things that can go wrong.  I had no idea that, had she lived, she likely would have led a perfectly normal life.  It’s amazing that medical advances, including research by the March of Dimes, have provided a way for such premature babies to overcome the huge obstacles they face each day.  Tomorrow, we march in memory of Zoey….and all babies born too soon.

2 Responses to “We March for Zoey”

  1. Cashelle Says:

    That must have been so difficult. I am so sorry that you guys had to go through that. She is beautiful.

  2. Nat Says:

    I’m glad you met your goal! Hope tomorrow goes good for you guys! I loved your little tributes to all your beautiful kids! And I loved that picture of Emmy taking her first steps! She’s so cute!We love you guys!

Leave a Reply

