3 strikes and you’re out!

There are times when my blog is slow because there just isn’t anything interesting to write.  Then, there are times like yesterday when there is too much interesting stuff to write.  We started off our Sunday by skipping Stake Conference–Joseph’s idea, not mine…I had fully intended to go.  We were going to a baby blessing, so he just assumed that would cover our church appearances for the day.  Strike 1. 

So, we got everyone ready and piled into the car.  About 10 minutes into the drive, I noticed that our gas tank was precariously low.  Oops.  We’d make it to the blessing fine, but making it home without stopping for gas wouldn’t be an option.  Strike 2.

The blessing was great.  Cadence looked beautiful in her little white dress and she was full of smiles.  Of course, our kids turned into monsters the minute the meeting started and I’m sure there were plenty of back-seat parents–aka, single people or young marrieds without kids–who were swearing that when they had kids, they’d never act like that in church (I only say that because I used to be one….and now look where I am).  I’m not sure if you read this Gretta, but if you do, we sure missed your help yesterday!! 

After the meeting ended, we piled back into the car to head to the Brown’s for food.  When Joseph tried to start the car, the key wouldn’t budge.  He jiggled it around a bit, and still nothing.  He checked to make sure we were fully in park, and still nothing.  He tried to lock the steering wheel…nothing.  Thankfully, we were only a block away from the house, so we unloaded the kids and the stroller and walked.  I didn’t mention a strike 3 anywhere…maybe it was naughty kids in church….but the car problem was our “you’re out!” for the day.  I’m just glad it happened while Joseph was with me and not in the middle of a store parking lot with nowhere for us to go. 

We were able to hang out at the Brown’s until our good friend Mark interruped his watching of the Jazz game to come rescue us (thank goodness for DVR).  And, being the wonderful friends that they are, they loaned us their van for a few days until we get our car back.  Joseph made arrangements this morning for it to be towed to a mechanic, but we haven’t heard yet what the problem is, how long it will take to fix, and how far we’ll have to dig into our pockets to pay for it.

On a happy note, I came away from the experience with a new stack of clothes.  My friend Daniele was lucky enough to be gifted a closet consultation with Alicia Richmond. She had several piles of things that she needed to get rid of, and many of them happened to be in my size. I gave away the majority of my clothes last summer, after being sure my body would never be the same again after carrying twins, only to find this year that the new stuff I bought is now hanging off of me. I guess time works miracles (because it certainly wasn’t exercise 😆 ). So, I’m now the proud owner of a bunch of Daniele’s reject clothes….and while Alicia might veto them from my wardrobe as well if she went through my closet, I’m just happy to have a few things that actually fit. Thanks Daniele!

5 Responses to “3 strikes and you’re out!”

  1. Kate Says:

    Crazy day! Congrats to Daniele and family though . . . 🙂

  2. Dawn Says:

    Wow, what a day!

  3. Alison Says:

    Don’t you just love when you have days like that. I hope that the car gets fixed soon. Mine was broke for about two weeks and it was not fun not having a car.

  4. Mel Says:

    You make tragedy very entertaining. I hope that you guys learned your lesson. Just kidding. I hope things get better soon. And speaking of Birthdays…..This month is such a special one, its birthday time for you…Happy Birthday Jenn!!!!! We are so glad that you are part of the family and we hope you have a great day!!!!

  5. liz and ammon ashby Says:

    Aren’t those day soooo fun! It sounds like me last week just not my car. I had discovered that our tax lady never submitted our taxes so I was running around like a mad women trying to make everything right. What a week 🙂

    I hope it doesn’t turn out to be major! Good Luck!

Leave a Reply

