Happy Mother’s Day!

Just less than two hours left of the day, and I’m finally blogging for the first time in a week to wish everyone a happy Mother’s Day!  I must admit that I was a bit disappointed at church today.  We had stake conference last week (remember…we skipped it and paid dearly), so this week was fast Sunday.  I had so been looking forward to seeing Ryan get up with the primary children for the first time to sing a medley of songs to the mothers, and due to testimony meeting, it didn’t happen.  Bummer. 

After church, we headed straight up to the Z’s to spend the afternoon and anticipate Steph’s call from Australia.  In true farm fashion, several cows escaped in the middle of the phone call 😆 Thankfully, David–in all his might and power–simply pointed and told the cows which way to go off of the road, and they obeyed. Unfortunately, Dad Z. was not able to command them as well, and they trampled all through the garden. I’ve been witness to worse cow escapes on the farm, so even though it kept the kids entertained for a few minutes, it didn’t take away too much from the phone call…though I’m sure it made Steph a little more homesick.

After the phone call, we ate one of the BEST dinners I’ve had in a long time (enhanced even more by the fact that it had been fast Sunday for us). Thanks Mom Z. for all the good grub! I went back for thirds, and even had double dessert afterward. Several hours later, I’m still full! The best part of the meal was watching Ryan put salt and pepper on his cake and ice cream….and the look on his face when he took the fateful bite 😆 Needless to say, he didn’t finish the rest of his plate, because all of a sudden the cake and ice cream that he had eaten his yucky vegetables to get was no longer appealing.

I wish we lived closer to both of our families so that we didn’t have to split all of our holidays. I was able to talk to my mom on the drive up, and even though I didn’t get your card in the mail, I hope you had a wonderful day mom! We’ll see you in a couple of weeks!

2 Responses to “Happy Mother’s Day!”

  1. Kate Says:

    I’m glad it was a good Mothers’ Day for you . . . and too funny about Ryan and the cake/ice cream! 😆

  2. Cynthia Says:

    I’m still chuckling (quietly so I don’t wake anyone in my sleeping house). I can’t wait to be closer. I’m glad it was a good day – minus the cows.

Leave a Reply

