Book Review: Uglies

Uglies
By Scott Westerfeld
425 Pages
Finished 5/25/08

Summary:

Tally is about to turn sixteen, and she can’t wait. Not for her license–for turning pretty. In Tally’s world, your sixteenth birthday brings an operation that turns you from a repellent ugly into a stunningly attractive pretty and catapults you into a high-tech paradise where your only job is to have a really great time. In just a few weeks Tally will be there.

But Tally’s new friend Shay isn’t sure she wants to be pretty. She’d rather risk life on the outside. When Shay runs away, Tally learns about a whole new side of the pretty world–and it isn’t very pretty. The authorities offer Tally the worst choice she can imagine: find her friend and turn her in, or never turn pretty at all. The choice Tally makes changes her world forever.

Uglies is another book that was recommended to me and put on my “to read” list. I had no idea what it was about until I checked it out from the library and read the summary on the back cover. It’s not a book that I think I would have picked up on my own–it has a bit of a sci-fi undertone to it, which isn’t my favored genre at all–but I actually liked this one quite a bit. It was slightly reminiscent of The Giver for me, with the whole engineered society thing going on. I must say that reading all of this young adult fiction leaves me thirsting for a book that isn’t going to frustrate the heck out of me with teenagers and their immature thought processes…more than once I wanted to shout at Tally and tell her to stop being such an idiot (Bella, are you taking notes?).

Overall, I enjyed the story, and as soon as I’m done writing this I’m going to hop on over to the library website and put the next book in the trilogy on hold. But, I’ll definately be reading something a little more grown up in between!

2008 Page Count: 4352

2 Responses to “Book Review: Uglies”

  1. Beth Says:

    I thought the same thing about Uglies — never would have read it if it hadn’t been recommended to me, reminded me of the Giver, and Tally drove me crazy (but not as bad as Bella!) šŸ˜€ So I liked what you had to say here. šŸ˜‰

    I liked Pretties (the second one) more the Uglies, but I seem to be in the minority there. šŸ™‚

  2. Kirsten Says:

    Too funny! I’m actually halfway through this book right now, as it was recommended to me by a friend. I’ll let you know what I think when I’m done.

Leave a Reply

