Date Night!

Last night we decided to take a little break and have a date night.  We don’t seem to find time for that kind of stuff very often anymore, so it was a nice treat.  We started off with a stop at the mall, where Ryan Shupe & The Rubberband were doing a little cameo to promote their new CD. We were surprised to see only the Rubberband, with customers doing karaoke to the music. Unfortunately, Ryan Shupe’s appendix burst early that morning, so he was recovering from surgery. They had him on speaker phone at the end, letting him know that they no longer needed him, as the fans knew the words to the songs better than any of the band members did. We were able to pick up a signed CD to enjoy on our ride to dinner. Even though we missed the Shupester this time, we’re lucky enough to get to see him at Joseph’s company party in December for a private concert. We’ll definately be taking along our PeeWee Pickers record to be signed at that one!

We had a coupon for one of my favorite restaurants, Ye Lion’s Den, and we enjoyed a very yummy meal there. If you’re ever in the Ogden area with a bit of time and money to kill, you HAVE to go to Ye Lion’s Den. They are a little pricey, but their meals are all inclusive, so you get the appetizer, drinks, entree, and dessert….not to mention the BEST scones and raspberry honey butter you’ll ever taste! Definately worth the splurge every now and then!

We also did a little shopping. I cleaned out my closet this week and have a huge bag to take to D.I. I tend to hold on to things, thinking that even though I haven’t worn it in forever, I’m sure I’ll find a reason to later on. This week, I purged. And my closet looks pretty sad now. I mostly needed shirts, and I found some great deals on a few…nothing fancy, but enough to make me feel a little less dated than what had previously been in my wardrobe. Now if we could just get this house done so that I can set aside the painting clothes and actually wear some of my new stuff….

We came home to find the babies snug in their cribs and Ryan all ready for bed. He had a great time with Sister Lemon and Zach, and he showed his appreciation by picking his nose and giving Zach the booger. What a way to end the night 🙄 We’ve recently been finding little surprises like this around the house, and we’ve been working on learning the importance of a tissue, but apparently it hasn’t sunk in yet. Thankfully Zach is a good sport….we’re thinking this rivals the time that Ryan spit a chewed up peanut into the hand of his new friend at church. Boys are always an adventure!

After we got Ryan to bed, we snuggled in to watch a movie. I was kind enough to accompany Joseph to Indiana Jones last weekend, so this time I got to choose. I’ve heard many good reviews of 27 Dresses from friends lately, so that was my pick. I was disappointed. It just didn’t catch my attention, and I found the language used by the friend to be rather distracting. I didn’t hate it, but it was just so-so for me. I was exhausted and nearly fell asleep at the end, which wouldn’t have really mattered because you know which guy she ends up within the first 5 minutes of the movie anyway.

Having a date night is always a great way to feel refreshed and ready to tackle another day. I’m ready to pick up my paint brush and go to work again today. Thanks Joseph for the fun night!

5 Responses to “Date Night!”

  1. Rachel Says:

    Sounds like a fun night. I wasn’t crazy about that movie either. I enjoyed Juno and P.S. I love you a lot more.

  2. Michelle Says:

    Don’t worry – he will outgrow handing food and boogers to his friends – but he’ll always want to give them to you!! (especially in sacrament meeting!)

  3. Stacey Says:

    I’m glad you had a fun date night. : )

    I’ve almost rented 27 dresses twice but I kept having the feeling I wouldn’t like it. Now I’m glad I didn’t because I haven’t talked to anyone who really liked it.

  4. Nat Says:

    Man, I bet that was quite the treat to have a night out alone. And what a fun thing to see I guess just the rubberband. But fun just the same. we’re not up in ogden, but if we ever are, we’ll check out that restaurant. Haven’t seen 27 dresses, guess I won’t stress if I don’t see it. glad you had a fun time.

  5. Cynthia Says:

    Fun to get out every once in a while – I’m excited to come see your home when it’s finished. We can’t wait for the big day on the 14th – Have dared start getting the boys excited yet…

Leave a Reply

