For you, Mom

We’ve been REALLY busy around here for the last week or so! It seems that every time I talk to my mom on the phone, I’m able to tell her about something new that we’ve finished on the house, and she’s always reminding me to post pictures. I’ve not had time to even take the pictures off the camera until today (and I could be interrupted at any moment with babies waking from naps), but here are a few pictures of recent developments at the Z house!

Last week, we decided we’d buzz the boys’ hair for the summer. I’m not necessarily crazy about the look of buzz cuts, but I am crazy about the ease of buzz cuts. And anything that will make getting out the door on Sunday mornings easier is worth dealing with for a whole summer. The problem is, Joseph cut them MUCH shorter than I had anticipated and we now have two little boys who appear to have just finished a round of chemotherapy. Oh well….hair grows. I suppose I can’t fault Joseph….hair this short comes natural to him πŸ˜†

The big news at our house is that the ceilings have been textured and painted, the fireplace has been stained (that was a huge headache….stain isn’t easy to choose and it took a couple of tries to get it how it is now, which I don’t LOVE, but can live with), and the hardwood floor is in!! We’re down to finish work, which is usually the point where you poop out and things go unfinished forever. Thankfully, I’m not sick to death of my paintbrush and I’ve still got the energy to boss Joseph around to get it all done! Hopefully within the next couple of weeks we’ll be completely done. Here are a few pics of the progress! All of my before pictures are on the other computer, so you’ll have to wait for the comparison until we get that hooked back up.






16 Responses to “For you, Mom”

  1. Lisa Says:

    wow jen- your home projects look GREAT! i’m so inspiried. i LOVE the wood flooring…what color is it and where did you get it?

    keep up the great work, girl!

  2. Mel Says:

    ALMOST as great as the real thing….now on to the next project right?

  3. Kate Says:

    Looks good! I especially love the look of the hardwood . . . wtg handipeople! πŸ™‚

  4. Brenda Dart Says:

    Oh, my poor little bald babies!!! Owen even looks like he doesn’t feel good. You’d better keep those clippers under lock and key so Joseph can’t use them when you are not there to supervise!

    The house looks great. The floors are wonderful. It made a world of difference to stain the fireplace. I can’t wait to see it in person. Good job!! Tell Joseph I love him in spite of his out of control clippers!!

  5. Nat Says:

    The house looks amazing! I love the floors and the fireplace! Just remember in a week, their hair will be to the length you wanted it to be in the first place!

  6. allison Says:

    Wow! All I can say is WOW!!

  7. Mikelle Says:

    I love love love your floor!!

  8. Michelle Says:

    Wow, you guys always blow me away with how much you accomplish! The house is looking fantastic and that floor is amazing!! Thanks for the pics. πŸ˜€

  9. Sarah A Says:

    It looks beautiful! I LOVE the floor- Nice work!

  10. Michelle Says:

    Wow – everything looks so good! I love summer buzzes for my boys – it is SO much easier!

  11. Daniele Says:

    I miss their red hair!! Hopefully it will be back in a week or two!

    The house looks stunning. Seriously. The floors are really beautiful. I can’t believe what a huge change it made. I’d like to retain you as my personal design consultant when we finally find a house, ok?

  12. Marianne Says:

    Wow! That floor is amazing! So gorgeous! And the fireplace & ceiling look great too. WOW!

  13. Dawn Says:

    Wow, the boys’ hair! LOL Jakey is going through the “but I can just wear my baseball hat” phase with his hair. LOL I miss being able to just buzz it without asking permission.

    I LOVE your floors, they look GREAT!

  14. Patty Wilcox Says:

    The house is beautiful! I love wood floors.

  15. becky Hansen Says:

    You two definelty keep busy. I love the house. I wish I had the skills you guys do. Everything looks so great!

  16. Emily Says:

    The house looks great! I’m impressed with your home improvement skills!

Leave a Reply

