Book Review: Peace Like a River

Peace Like a River
By Leif Enger
311 pages
Finished 6/24/08

Summary:

Leif Enger’s best-selling debut is at once a heroic quest, a tragedy, and a love story, in which “what could be unbelievable becomes extraordinary” (Connie Ogle, The Miami Herald). Enger brings us eleven-year-old Reuben Land, an asthmatic boy in the Midwest who has reason to believe in miracles. Along with his sister and father, Reuben finds himself on a cross-country search for his outlaw older brother who has been controversially charged with murder. Their journey unfolds like a revelation, and its conclusion shows how family, love, and faith can stand up to the most terrifying of enemies, the most tragic of fates.

I borrowed this book, but it’s one that I can see buying and reading again and again through the years. One of my all-time favorite books is To Kill a Mockingbird, and Peace Like a River held the same, warm feel for me. The relationship between Reuben and his younger sister Swede is very reminiscent of Jem and Scout. Amidst controversy and heartache, there is a very sweet story of loyalty and love, and told through the eyes of an eleven-year-old boy gives it an edearing quality that most books lack for me. I loved this one and will most certainly read it again!

2008 Page Count: 5301

2 Responses to “Book Review: Peace Like a River”

  1. Daniele Says:

    I will have to look for this one. To Kill a Mockingbird has long been my favorite book, so I’m sure I’ll like this too!

  2. Daisy Chain » Review: Peace Like a River Says:

    […] has been on my to-read book ever since seeing how highly recommended it came from Jenn. Lots of my other Goodreads friends had read it, too, and they’d all loved […]

Leave a Reply

