Book Review: Pretties

Pretties
By Scott Westerfeld
384 Pages
Finished June 2008

Summary:

Gorgeous. Popular. Perfect. Perfectly wrong. Tally has finally become pretty. Now her looks are beyond perfect, her clothes are awesome, her boyfriend is totally hot, and she’s completely popular. It’s everything she’s ever wanted. But beneath all the fun–the nonstop parties, the high-tech luxury, the total freedom–is a nagging sense that something’s wrong. Something important. Then a message from Tally’s ugly past arrives. Reading it, Tally remembers what’s wrong with pretty life, and the fun stops cold. Now she has to choose between fighting to forget what she knows and fighting for her life–because the authorities don’t intend to let anyone with this information survive.

Book Two in the Uglies series by Scott Westerfeld, Pretties was good enough, but certainly didn’t capture my attention the same way that Uglies did. One reason that I’ve never really liked science fiction is all of the made-up language and words that are often written in. Uglies didn’t really have much of this, but it’s heavy in the first part of Pretties–I think I would have gone brain-missing if I’d had to read the word bubbly one more time. Sure, pretties need their own little sub-language….but the one they have is pretty stupid and it really started to grate on my nerves.

The storyline was so-so for me in this book. The plot was weaker this time around. And the thought of swirly tattoos on everyone’s faces made my head want to spin. On principle, I’ll finish the series. But if subsequent books aren’t better than this one, I probably won’t get much enjoyment out of it.

2008 Page Count:  4990

One Response to “Book Review: Pretties”

  1. zollyzoo.com » Book Review: Ella Enchanted Says:

    […] gotta say something), it’s just not the kind of book that’s down my alley. I’ve complained before about my disdain for made-up words and languages in books, and the fact that I […]

Leave a Reply

