Book Review: Specials

Specials
By Scott Westerfeld
372 Pages
Finished 7/23/08

Summary:

Tally thought they were a rumor, but now she’s one of them. A Special. A super-amped fighting machine, engineered to keep the uglies down and the pretties stupid.

But maybe being perfectly programmed with strength and focus isn’t better than anything she’s ever known. Tally still has memories of something else.

But it’s easy for her to tune that out–until she’s offered a chance to stamp out the rebels of the New Smoke permanently. It all comes down to one last choice: listen to that tiny, faint heartbeat, or carry out the mission she’s programmed to complete. Either way, Tally’s world will never be the same.

Thank goodness this one turned out better than Pretties. I was not really in the mood to read Specials when it came in at the library, but when the holds come, you’ve got to read them. It didn’t take long before I was into the book and it was MUCH better than its predecessor. Not including much of the stupid-making pretty language made a big difference for me. I just don’t get along with dumb, made-up sci-fi words in a book. When I reached the end and discovered that this little trio of books has actually spawned a fourth novel, I read a page or two into the sneak-peak for Extras and I’m not sure if I’ll read that one or not. Part of me feels obligated–how can I read all but one? Should I or shouldn’t I? Right now, I’m leaning toward no, but I may change my mind. Anyone care to convince me one way or the other?

I guess, overall, I can give a thumb up (notice the singular) to the Uglies books. If you’re into sci-fi, you’ll probably love them. It’s not my favorite genre (OK, it’s not even on my list of genres), and I maganed through them just fine, so I imagine most average readers would as well.

2008 Page Count: 6223

 

2 Responses to “Book Review: Specials”

  1. Beth Says:

    For what it’s worth, I don’t feel obligated to read “Extras.” 🙂

    Specials was actually my least favorite of the series, probably because I thought Pretties left the story with so much potential that was totally unresolved in the third … ugh! Such a disappointment.

  2. Kara Says:

    I just finished reading this series and agree with your summaries of all 3. Pretties was definitely annoying with the way they talked, drove me nuts.

    Also, I juts read Extras today, and thought it was pretty good, there’s a lot of similarities to blogging in it.

Leave a Reply

