Book Review: Ella Enchanted

Ella Enchanted
By Gail Carson Levine
232 Pages
Finished 8/3/08

Summary:

At her birth, Ella of Frell was the unfortunate recipient of a foolish fairy’s gift–the “gift” of obedience. Ella must obey any order given to her, whether it’s hopping on one foot for a day and a half, or chopping off her own head! But strong-willed Ella does not tamely accept her fate. Against a bold backdrop of princes, ogres, giants, wicked stepsisters, and fairy godmothers, Ella goes on a quest to break the curse–once and for all.

OK people, don’t throw tomatoes at me, but I really didn’t LOVE this book. I know I just placed myself in the minority with that statement, but cut me some slack–I just don’t get into fairytales. I didn’t dislike it (I did read it in just one day…that’s gotta say something), it’s just not the kind of book that’s down my alley. I’ve complained before about my disdain for made-up words and languages in books, and the fact that I couldn’t even begin to pronounce the words that make up the mystical languages in Ella left me rolling my eyes a bit. Maybe I’d have liked it better back in my elementary school days, but I didn’t like fairies back then either, so who knows. My summary of Ella Enchanted–it’s a cute, quick read. I hear that the movie didn’t do it justice, so you’re probably better off to stick with the book.

2008 Page Count: 6713

One Response to “Book Review: Ella Enchanted”

  1. Sarah A Says:

    I loved the movie! I thought it was really cute and witty! Haven’t read the book though- I don’t think I would enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

