$100 in copays later…

We spent a good share of Friday at doctor’s offices, dropping $$ on copays like it grew on trees! All three kids saw the opthamologist in the morning for their yearly checkups. Preemies are at a higher risk for several eye conditions, so we’ll continue our yearly visits until they hit age 7, and then per the doctor’s orders from there on out. All 3 were really good when it came to put the drops in to dilate their eyes and all 3 came away with clean bills of health!

Owen had his post-op visit with the ENT on Friday. We were feeling a bit concerned about having not seen any changes in him after getting the tubes put in. Perhaps my expectations were a little too high–nearly every parent that I’ve talked to has said that they noticed almost immediate changes in their child after getting tubes, so when we didn’t see the same in Owen, I started to worry a bit. But, he passed his hearing test with flying colors. The doctor was really pleased with his results. However, given that his speech/communication skills have been so far behind, he suggested that we continue with therapy and then follow up again in about 6 months. He said that we know he’s hearing now….we just don’t know how he’s processing what he hears. If we haven’t seen a significant improvement by then, we’ll get a referral to see a developmenal neurologist. In the last day or two, he has started to imitate more sounds and seems to be more aware of what we’re saying to him. So, that’s a good sign!

6 Responses to “$100 in copays later…”

  1. Rachel Says:

    You’ve got to love that. I hate paying for more than one copay at a time. Speech therapy can take time to see results but it does help. Richard’s been seeing his therapist for about 6 months now and we’re just starting to see a difference now. Good luck!

  2. Marsha Says:

    Jen- That is such good news that your son can hear better now. I wanted to ask you about that when you came to my shower, but I almost no one-on-one time with any of my guests. I hope you had a good time. I sure loved your gift. I think it’s one of the best, most thoughtful gifts I have gotten. How useful and great! I just love how the kit is ready for travel and you thought of everything I would need inside. WONDERFUL! Thank you so much. I hope Scott and I can come visit soon and get to spend a little better one-on-one time. Marsha

  3. Em Says:

    Glad to hear that everything went well!

  4. Melissa Diehl Says:

    Hey jennzee-
    I hear ya about copays- and now all my kids bdays are the same week!
    Your kids have gotten so big!

  5. Daniele Says:

    I’m so glad to hear that Owen passed his hearing test!! That’s great news!

  6. Natalie Palmer Says:

    Ah, lovely health insurance costs. We’ve dished out enough in premiums, co-pays & deductibles this year to have paid for a car… or something really expensive! Oh well. At least we should have a lot of deductions for taxes next spring, right? And at least we live in a day & age when there is such great health care to help our little ones. 🙂

Leave a Reply

