A day of great progress!

I mentioned a couple of days ago that we’ve just barely started to see some of the fruits of Owen’s tube surgery, and today we got a whole bushel full! We’ve been working on signing with him for a quite a while now, and he occasionally would sign “more” and “please”, but hasn’t shown ANY interest beyond that (and even those were tough to get out of him). This morning, Emmy found a hat and brought it to me, saying “hat”. Owen immediately made the sign for “hat”–no prompting, no modeling, just totally on his own. And, if that weren’t shocking enough, at lunchtime he initiated “more” on his own several times, and then signed “all done” when he was finished. Being unsure if that’s what he actually did and really meant, I asked “Do you want more?” and he firmly shook his head “no”. I was so surprised that I started laughing, which he thought was great.

Later this afternoon we were having some quiet time and he was pointing to his nose, so I started labeling parts of his face. He picked up on those very quickly, and then after poking me in the eye I taught him the sign for “sorry”, which he responded to very well. It was a really rewarding day for me, as we are used to getting just little bits and pieces of progress at a time. I can only hope that he keeps it up!

2 Responses to “A day of great progress!”

  1. Lisa Says:

    Way to go Owen!!!! (and way to go mom for being so ‘on the ball’ with all that learning stuff!) 🙂

  2. Marsha Says:

    WONDERFUL! That is such great news.

Leave a Reply

