Calling all moms of girls!!

I need help!  The plastic baggie is no longer cutting it for storing all of Emmy’s hair stuff!  How do you organize it all?  I like the tackle box that the hair guru over at Hair Today uses, but I haven’t been able to find one yet (and the daily pill dispenser box that Joseph got at the health fair has outgrown our needs). What about bows? I don’t have time (nor the desire, really) to make a cutesy something-or-other to hang all the bows on…I just want something simple that will make it easy for me to get what I need without digging through a bunch of stuff to find it. Ideas please!

8 Responses to “Calling all moms of girls!!”

  1. Dawn Says:

    Jenn, I bet you’d do this fabulously so I’ll share what I’m making for Jayden’s birthday because we’re redoing her room….on photopaper make an 8X10 of something cute in a horizontal…we’re doing some pics of Jayden and her name cutesy in a photo program. Frame it in a Walmart frame. On the back of the frame attack 3, LONG strands of 1 inch think ribbon (or 3/4, I wouldn’t do less than 1/2 cause they twist if you do), evenly space, all hanging down below the pretty “picture,” then clip all the bows on there.

    We put the other stuff in a caboodles type thing (probably like a tackle box.)

  2. Dawn Says:

    LOL I said Walmart frame to you – I meant Target, LOL! 😉

  3. Daniele Says:

    We’re not there yet, but what about something like this:

    http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?ref=sr_gallery_19&listing_id=12694754

    I know you said you didn’t want to make something, but it’s the same premise as the french memo board and I think you made one of those didn’t you?

    Right now all of ours are stuck in a plastic tray in the top drawer of the dresser. We only have headbands and interchangeable bows right now since she has so little hair!!

  4. Marsha Says:

    Growing up, we had Caboodle Boxes and Sasaby Boxes to keep all our hair and girl stuff in. Here is a link to a blog with a picture of a Caboodle. http://praisefiddler.blogspot.com/2007/09/remember-caboodles.html
    You can’t buy Caboodles anymore, I don’t think… but I found this other site that sells things that are similar (looks like they have lots of things called “train cases”).
    http://www.yazmo.com/
    Hope that helps! A box like the one you gave me at the shower with all the bath stuff might work too!- Marsha

  5. Marsha Says:

    PS- the multi-sectioned tackel box from the “Hair Today” link seems excatly like the boxes that you can buy in the craft section of a store that you use to organize and hold different colored thread for doing cross stitch. So, just about anywhere you can buy cross stitch supplies (like Michael’s crafts) you should be able to find a box like that. Here’s a link I found to order one. http://www.abcstitch.com/subjects_php/subjects.php?subject=floss%20organizer
    Marsha

  6. Jenn Says:

    Yes, Marsha! Perfect! I think I actually have one of those thread boxes laying around! I’m sure I’d have never made that connection!

    And Dawn, I laughed when I read your first comment….then laughed some more when I read your second comment and saw that you caught yourself! You know me too well 🙂

    Daniele….the board I made was similar, but it wouldn’t work with bows. However, knowing how easy it was, maybe I’d venture something like that….or just buy the one on etsy!

  7. Sarah A Says:

    All our hair stuff is in a huge pile that I dig through- so I’m no help here. But thanks for those pictures of the shoe organizer for hair things- that is a GREAT idea!

  8. Marianne Says:

    Dawn’s clip-board is so cute! We put pony-tail holders in a recycled round altoids box (really works well and is simple to pack for trips–small!). The clips we just keep clipped on the cardboard they came on and stack those in a drawer in the bathroom. Anything fancier just goes in a plastic bag. We don’t have many super fancy bows. My sister uses a large plastic craft box like you see them storing beads or something in. Lots of little cubbies.

Leave a Reply

