Book Review: Breaking Dawn

Breaking Dawn
By Stephenie Meyer
754 Pages
Finished 8/29/08

Summary:

To be irrevocably in love with a vampire is both fantasy and nightmare woven into a dangerously heightened reality for Bella Swan. Pulled in one direction by her intense passion for Edward Cullen, and in another by her profound connection to werewolf Jacob Black, she has endured a tumultuous year of temptation, loss, and strife to reach the ultimate turning point. Her imminent choice to either join the dark but seductive world of immortals or pursue a fully human life has become the thread from which the fate of the two tribes hangs.

Now that Bella has made her decision, a startling chain of unprecendented events is about to unfold with potentially devastating and unfathomable consequences. Just when the frayed strands of Bella’s life–first discovered in Twilight, then scatter and torn in New Moon and Eclipse–seem ready to heal and knit together, could they be destroyed….forever?

The astonishing, breathlessly anticipated conclusion to the Twilight Saga, Breaking Dawn illuminates the secrets and mysteries of this spellbinding romantic epic that has entranced millions.

I’ve already mentioned that it was 18 days after the release of this book before I got it into my hands. And then, it was another 7 before I could actually get through the whole thing. Part of that was due to the fact that a mom doesn’t have enough time in the day to do it all….but the other part was that it just wasn’t that hard for me to put the book down and then not pick it back up until the next day…or the next. It didn’t suck me in. I enjoyed the story enough…it was nice to finally get past the whole Bella turning into a vampire thing and move forward….and Renesmee brought a nice twist to it all….but this wasn’t a can’t-put-it-down-or-I’ll-go-nuts book for me. I was impressed that the author was able to pull off the climax of the book so close to the end….I didn’t feel like it was too rushed (though maybe a bit “convenient”) and didn’t feel overly tidy to me.

This just isn’t my genre…so if I seem to be coming across as a bit lukewarm, it’s mainly because I don’t typically read books like this. Really, I did like it! Would I list myself with the millions of “entranced” readers around the world? Not quite. But the series does get my recommendation for some fun, easy reads.

2008 Page Count: 7235

3 Responses to “Book Review: Breaking Dawn”

  1. Becky Says:

    I loved the book but agree I was able to put it down and not have to pick it up right away. But I still wanted to read it almost all the time. I am glad you are seeing results of putting tubes in Owen’s ears. I continue to see results from Addi. The one thing that tells me her tubes are working is that I see a lot of wax and fluid draining from them.

  2. Em Says:

    I’ve only read “The Host” and haven’t started on the series yet, but from all I’ve heard, the 4th book isn’t her greatest. Oh well. Are you going to see the movie that’s coming out soon?

  3. Ann Says:

    I feel much the same way you do about the whole Twilight series. It was good, but not my usual type of book. I love the Ryanism about the spider. He is so funny. I’d love to see you guys sometime. I haven’t seen you since the twins’ baby shower – way too long ago.

Leave a Reply

