Tackle It Tuesday

Tackle It Tuesday Meme

A few months ago, our ward did a group buy on wheat grinders. Given that I 1) had no wheat in my food storage and 2) wouldn’t have known what to do with it if I did, I decided that I needed to get learning! I bought a grinder, 50 lbs. of wheat, and the rest is history! We’ve always preferred wheat bread in our home, and I decided that baking my own bread would not only save us money, but taste soooo much better! Yesterday was bread baking day, and it was an extra complicated tackle this time around because at the exact moment that I started the KitchenAid, the doorbell rang. I had COMPLETELY forgotten that Owen had therapy that morning. So, there I stood in my apron, apologizing that I’d have to be back and forth between the living room and the kitchen while I worked on my bread. Thankfully, Christine was very understanding and Owen was distracted enough by her presence to not be hanging on me in the kitchen when he should have been doing therapy. It was a little stressful, but I finished the dough in time to spend the last few minutes of therapy with Owen. I think we’ll have to have a fresh loaf ready to send home with Christine next month when she comes to thank her for her patience!

9 Responses to “Tackle It Tuesday”

  1. allisonsj Says:

    That is AWESOME! It feels so good to pull fresh bread out of the oven. You will get hooked! I have a super good wheat bread recipe. I’ll e-mail it to you.

  2. Cynthia Says:

    Wow – That looks fantastic – I need to make some!

  3. Jenn Says:

    Yes, Allison! I’d love to try your recipe! I used one for a few weeks that was just so-so for wheat bread (makes great white bread and breadsticks though!), and this was my 3rd attempt at another recipe that I’m still trying to get the hang of. I’m totally open to trying something new!

  4. Cashelle Says:

    Could you please teach me? Do you use a bread maker? This is something I have wanted to learn. Any tips?

  5. Sarah Says:

    Sheesh Jen, you’re such a good mormon. My mom yells at me every other day “Don’t you know how to make bread?” ” Why can’t you hem your own pants?’ And my favorite: “Nice girls wear slips”. I’m just a disappointment in so many ways 🙂

  6. Camilla Says:

    That bread looks delicious! I am so excited to read more of your posts! I am going to need a copy of your recipe for wheat bread. Mmmmmmm…

  7. Mel Says:

    What recipe are you using?….those loaves look beautiful….you always raise the bar for me….now I am going to have to make my bread beautiful too.

  8. Jenn Says:

    Mel, it’s the one that Shayla has been using….in the pink ward recipe book that I didn’t think I had until I realized that mine was blue….I guess because Joseph is the only boy? Anyway, I’m still trying to master it because I have to put 5-6 more cups of flour in than the recipe calls for and I always spend a ton of time covered in gloopy dough trying to get the consistency right.

  9. Mel Says:

    Well the loaves look really good. I am being serious. My bread rarely looks pretty. Maybe I need more flour. Who knows.

Leave a Reply

