Land of the Living

I haven’t been part of it for a few days. I woke up Wednesday feeling a little off, and by afternoon I was feeling really crappy. At that point, I checked out….my fevered body went into its own little zone. Thankfully Joseph was able to take Thursday off so that I could remain in that zone…I haven’t been so sick for a long time. I finally went to the doctor on Friday and learned that I have strep. Thanks to the days of rest, and some nice drugs, I’m feeling much better today! It feels so good to be up and around…I have NO idea how I survived 8 weeks of bedrest without going completely insane! I’ve got loads of things to catch up on here, so expect this to be a really long post with lots of updates and even more pictures.  I finally discovered how wordpress lets you link pics to their online version, so you can now click on them for a bigger version.

Two weeks ago, we got together with the Hoyts for our annual pumpkin carving contest. We missed the Fausetts this year due to illness, but we saw their pumpkins later, and they looked better than ours. I think they conspired to miss the usual night with a million interruptions from kids so that they could carve really great pumpkins. In any case, here are the results of our hard work. Ryan’s is the Darth Vader on the far left (compliments of a very patient father), Joseph’s is the Grim Reaper in the middle, and mine is the witch on the far right.

Monday was Joseph’s birthday. He took the day off, since his car was still in the shop. It was fun to have him home to celebrate all day long! I’ve been working for the last few months to buy him 30 gifts to open. I didn’t want a bunch of useless gag gifts, so I started well ahead of time so that it didn’t break the budget. Ryan had a great time helping him open them up, and it was nice to hear him say that everything that had been on his list were given to him. These ears of mine have been on high alert to catch everything he’s mentioned wanting in the last few months! The culminating gift was a pair of tickets to a concert that he’s really wanting to see again. Thanks again Chris for your willingness to conspire with me on getting those! That night, we went out to dinner with friends and then went bowling. That’s probably where I picked up that bug….bowling balls are so nasty!  Unfortunately, I deleted all the pictures of Joseph’s big 3-0 on accident, and I was only able to recover a few, most of which were of him opening presents, which I know isn’t much fun for everyone else to see.  Here they are anyway.

His gifts got bigger and better the further into the stack he got. This was the last gift he opened, and he thought it was a hint that he was old now and had started to snore. It only took a second or two for it to click that it was more likely to be a hint that his final gift was the one he was really hoping he’d get!

 Given my checked-out state on Wednesday and Thursday, I have nothing to update there. I do remember Ryan asking a million times if it was Halloween yet and can he put on his costume. Friday couldn’t come fast enough for him! We spent the entire day telling him the schedule so that he’d stop asking about his costume. We had to miss the ward trunk or treat, but Joseph took the kids to the Hoyt’s that night for pizza and trick-or-treating. He forgot the camera, but Mark did get a few to share with us.

None of us are in this picture, but I thought it was funny how similar Tiffany and the skeleton looked!

Here are a few more pics from things that I missed last week. The first bunch are from the annual Z family party. The kids went trick-or-treating at the middle school Grandpa Z. works at.

 

All of the Z grandkids

It took a LOT of work to get these two to stand next to each other long enough to get a decent picture!

Totally out of focus, but proof that Owen did have a few happy moments that night!

This next bunch is from the Saturday afternoon that we spent with my family at Hee Haw farms.  The kids had a TON of fun!  Owen was in love with the slides, Emmy loved the corn bin, and Ryan loved it all! 

We were shocked that these two sat in the same seat and actually seemed to enjoy it.

I love Emmy’s face on this one!

They had a pig chase and Joseph and Nick decided to give it a shot when the “big kids” were allowed to get in the ring. The rules were that you had to catch a pig and kiss its snout. Not being one to turn down a challenge, Joseph played by the rules. Nick did not, and paid for it dearly…

His pig did not like being caught and not kissed, so he decided to show Nick who was boss and pooped on his shirt. Thankfully, Matthew had a clean one in his car. Of all the people for this to happen to, I think Nick is the one who would have been most grossed out. So Nick, how was it really?

Owen was really intrigued by this little tractor, but he just couldn’t figure out how it worked.

They really do love each other, most of the time…

3 Responses to “Land of the Living”

  1. allisonsj Says:

    Adorable costumes! I am glad that you are feeling better. Being sick is the worst.

  2. audrey crisp Says:

    I love it! Those costumes are great! It looks like you had a great Holiday. I’m sorry you were sick! Your blog is adorable too!

  3. Mikelle Says:

    Your kids are so dang cute–twins must be fun at Halloween when it comes to picking out costumes!!

Leave a Reply

