Book Review: Fairest

Fairest
By Gail Carson Levine
326 Pages
Finished 11/18/08

Summary:

The fairy Lucinda has once again given a dreadful gift. This time it’s a mysterious magical mirror. The gift is disastrous when it falls into the hands of Aza, who never looks in a mirror if she can help it. In the Kingdom of Ayortha, Aza is most definately not the fairest of them all. Many spurn her. Many scoff at her. She keeps out of sight.

But in a land of singers, Aza has her own gift, one that she’s come by without fary intervention: a voice that can do almost anything, a voice that captivates all who hear it. In Ontio Castle, merry Prince Ijori is drawn to it, and vain Queen Ivi would do anything to remain the fairest in the land.

In this spellbinding tale filled with humor, adventure, romance, and song, Newbery Honor author Gail Carson Levine invites you to join Aza as she discovers how exquisite she truly is.

I figured that since I had such good luck with the last fairytale-ish book I read, I’d move on to another. This one was just OK for me. The storyline was cute, and the reading was easy for the most part. I’ve mentioned before that I have little patience for made-up languages in books, so when I got to the last half of the book and the gnomes and ogres come into the picture, my irritation mounted. I hate it when you have to skip over entire sentences because they are just a jumble of letters strung together, passed off as gnomish. That kind of stuff is why I avoid sci-fi and fairytale books. Given that the front flap says this book is appropriate for ages 8-14, I can cut it some slack. I definately think a girl in that age range would enjoy Fairest.

2008 Page Count: 9460

2 Responses to “Book Review: Fairest”

  1. Tammy J Says:

    Looks like you are going to reach your goal of 10,000 pages in 2008! I am wayyyy impressed!! 🙂

  2. Daniele Says:

    You are so close to your goal! WTG! You are a great example to your kids for reading so much!

Leave a Reply

