I must say, I’m impressed!

Ryan’s never been one to sit still for very long, which means that he doesn’t spend much time drawing or coloring. We’ve been working to teach him to write his name recently, and it’s taken a long time just to get the kid to not use his fist to hold the pencil! Usually, a few scribbles is enough for him and then he’s done. Today we had friends over and the girls wanted to color. The boys, wanting to be cool like the girls, decided that they’d color too. Imagine my utter surprise when Ryan presented me with his picture, and it actually looked like what he intended–Darth Vader. It’s obviously pretty crude, but he got the general shape right, and the red scribbles are his light saber. I was so proud of him! And at least now I know that there is hope that he might even learn to sit still long enough to write his name before he starts kindergarten!

8 Responses to “I must say, I’m impressed!”

  1. Cynthia Says:

    very impressive – how did you break the fist thing??

  2. Marianne Says:

    That’s great! I sincerely remember the moment that Emily Lara transitioned from scribbles to actual drawings. It was so darn exciting!!! (And I have the drawing in a scrapbook so if I wanted I could even tell you the exact date 🙂

  3. Mel Says:

    I can totally see the resemblance. He has a future there.

  4. Kelsey Says:

    That is a great picture. I totally see Darth Vader! We are working with Allie on writing her name. I just write her name with a Highlighter and than have her trace over the top of it. It is really working to help her figure out the letters. Just a thought!

  5. audrey crisp Says:

    sweet!

  6. Em Says:

    I can definitely see the ‘Vader’ in that picture. Great job, Ryan!!!

  7. Michelle Says:

    Now that’s talent! WTG Ryan. 🙂

  8. Lisa Says:

    It looks just.like.vader. Way to go Ryan! 🙂

Leave a Reply

