Book Review: The Christmas Box

The Christmas Box
By Richard Paul Evans
125 pages
Finished 12/2/08

As has been my personal tradition since 2003, I kick off the Christmas season by reading The Christmas Box. This book is one of my very favorites of all time. Each time I read it, I feel a renewed desire to bring my focus back home. I think every parent who has lost a child understands when I say that we have an extra dose of appreciation for the children we are privileged to raise in this life. We’d give anything to have that opportunity with our angels. When I lose my patience with my kids, it helps to remind myself what a blessing it is to even have a reason to lose my patience. Oh, how I’d love the chance to scold Zoey over doing something naughty! Reading The Christmas Box is one of those wonderful reminders for me.

It seems that each time I read this book, a line or two stands out to me. There were a couple this year. The first, “Sunday was not proclaimed the ‘day of rest’ by a mother with a family to ready for church, but such is the irony of piousness”, gave me a chuckle because I feel like it sums up my year of Sundays. We’ve had 9 am church this year and it’s a challenge to get everyone up and ready and still be on time. I have to admit that I have a smidge of pride over the fact that we’ve been late only a couple of times this year, and we usually get there with plenty of time to spare!

The second is one of the letters in the box:

December 6, 1916

My Beloved One,

Another Christmas season has come. The time of joy and peace. Yet how great a void still remains in my heart. They say that time heals all wounds. But even as wounds heal, they leave scars, token reminders of the pain. Remember me, my love. Remember my love.

My wounds are no longer raw and overwhelmingly painful. But, I notice my scars much more at times such as Christmas. There are 6 stockings hanging over the fireplace each year, but only 5 of them will ever be filled. The void in my heart will always remain, but I’m so grateful that time has made it easier to deal with.

At just 125 pages, The Christmas Box is an easy book to read in an evening. It’s inspirational and uplifting and is sure to bring a special spirit into your heart at a time when we sometimes forget what the first gift of Christmas was.

2008 Page Count: 9536

5 Responses to “Book Review: The Christmas Box”

  1. Miranda Says:

    Jenn, this review is beautiful!

    And I’m so glad you reminded me about this book, I had forgotten about it. I’m going to read it again this year.

  2. allisonsj Says:

    Good thoughts. Thanks.

  3. audrey crisp Says:

    that was beautiful! thanks for that recommendation! I’ll have to read it!

  4. Angie Says:

    Thanks for that reminder. I have had a really rough three days with my kids and don’t know how to deal with them. I can’t even honestly say I want to at times. Thanks for reminding me they are a blessing. While I don’t know what I would do without them, I am so frustrated with them too. Thanks for being an inspiration to me and always having the perfect thing to say.

  5. Lisa Says:

    ((((Jen))))) so feeling your void. I think I read your post at theeeee opportune time (just after losing some of that precious patience- sigh).

    I’ve GOT to get my hands on this book! I guess I’m off to the library tomorrow. 🙂

    Hugs to you tonight as you reflect and love…

Leave a Reply

