How busy are we? It took me three days to finish this post. That’s how busy.

My mother-in-law told me that things must be very busy around here because I haven’t updated my blog in a while…and she was right! We’ve had a lot of craziness going on, and I’ve got a lot to catch up on. I’ll try to keep it as short and sweet as possible….and in trying to keep our lives looking as perfect as can be, I’ll leave all the bad parts out (you don’t want to hear about it anyway…Joseph’s expensive car repairs, followed by his car accident and the extra money it will cost us in insurance surcharges, the awful color correction that our Christmas cards came back with, or the day that Joseph’s phone was destroyed when the car door knocked against his pocket and obliterated the screen…and no, it isn’t covered by the warranty).

A couple of weeks ago, I noticed that the front rail on Emmy’s crib had a loose screw that needed to be tightened. The rail had to come off in order tighten the screw, so I decided that we might as well take the rails of and give it a shot with letting the babies sleep in their cribs-turned-toddler-beds. I had no idea what to expect. Two toddlers in the same room, behind a closed door, with freedom to get out of bed whenever they want was a little nervewracking! The first night was a bit of a challenge, and we had to put Owen back in bed several times. Naptime the first few days was a disaster. But, we’ve worked them into a nice routine. Bedtime is a breeze and naptime, while not as long as it used to be, has worked itself out as well. I think we’ll definately be ready for big beds come summertime!

It’s not uncommon to find them having fun together in the morning!

Thanksgiving was fun this year as well. We had a small gathering at our house and dinner was yummy! Joseph braved the crowds early the next morning to get a few items he had his eye on, and stayed warm and snuggled up in bed. Owen got a nasty ear infection and we had to take him to urgent care. We helped our friends, the Browns, move into their new home. I didn’t take a single picture all weekend long. Thankfully my sister did, so these are stolen off of her blog!

 

 

On December 4th we took the kids for a ride on the Polar Express. The movie was one of the first the Ryan ever latched on to and we took him last year and had a great time (after I recovered from the adventure of getting there). Since kids under 3 are free, we decided take the whole family this year. Owen was a stinker for most of the ride, but everyone else had a lot of fun. My mom, sister, and nephew came as well.  I have a ton of pictures from the train ride, so these are just a handful of the highlights.

 

We had our first big snowfall of the year this weekend, and Ryan has had so much fun playing outside in it. It brings back many memories of the hours and hours we spent outside during my childhood, trudging up the awesome sledding hill just beyond our backyard. I was beginning to worry that we wouldn’t have a white Christmas this year, but we definately will!

We also saw Santa for the second time this season at our ward Christmas breakfast.  Ryan was excited to sit on his lap this year.  We’ve managed to miss any opportunities to visit Santa until this year, so I made sure the twins had a chance as well.  Every child needs a picture of themselves screaming on his lap, right?

The next couple of weeks promise to be super busy as well, but we’re excited for the extra time we’ll have to spend with our families!  This time of year is so much fun, but I have to admit that I’m looking forward to some lazy days after the new year arrives!

5 Responses to “How busy are we? It took me three days to finish this post. That’s how busy.”

  1. Em Says:

    Glad to hear an update (even the bad parts). Can’t wait to see you this weekend!

  2. audrey crisp Says:

    i love the crying pic of them with santa! how dang funny! i think most kids are terrified of santa! what a shame…looks like you had an amazing THanksgiving!

  3. Lisa Says:

    I had to laugh right out loud TWICE- when I saw Emmy and Owen jumping on their crib (some part deep inside me wants to join them) and the screaming picture on Santa’s lap. The Zolly life looks like a ton of fun (despite the bad parts, of course-lol) I hope things can settle down for you a bit. 🙂

  4. Cynthia Says:

    I hope things start settling down soon so you can enjoy all the great Christmas festivities….You are brave with the beds!

  5. Becky Hansen Says:

    You have been way busy!!! We got your Christmas card and I think they look great! Your so good at getting those out every year. Unlike me! Have a great Christmas.

Leave a Reply

