My first ever pie crust!

And it won’t be my last!

I’ve got two brothers-in-law, one on each side of the family, who are pretty darn good pie makers.  It’s been easy to just let them handle any pie-making that needs to be done for family gatherings.  Truth be told, making a pie crust always seemed very intimidating to me, and since I really find pie crust to be kind of bland and boring, I’ve never felt motivated to try to make one.  However, when my kids started begging to make a pumpkin pie, a little voice in my head said to just give it a try.  The worst that could happen is that it would wind up in the trash and we’d have to run to the store for a frozen crust.

I used Amanda’s recipe and was really quite shocked at how easy it was!  The only mistake I made was that the pumpkin pie mix that I used was big enough for two pies and I had only made one crust….whoops!  I failed to photograph anything but the crust once it was in the pie dish, but here it is in all its glory:

And after the pie was baked:

I was so excited when it turned out and having made it myself, it didn’t even taste as bland as pie crust usually does for me!

2 Responses to “My first ever pie crust!”

  1. Amanda Says:

    It looks perfect, like you’ve done it a million times!

  2. Em Says:

    Nick says he is proud!

Leave a Reply

