Bake 52 Week 1: Quiche

Welcome to week 1 of Bake 52!  I’ve been so excited to get started with this!  This week’s host is Clare and she chose a quiche recipe to start off our year.

Having never made a quiche, or eaten a quiche, I was a little intimidated initially.  However, a quick glance at the recipe showed that it’s really quite simple.  My recent success with making a pie crust made me excited to try again for the quiche.  I decided to stick with the basic recipe, but America’s Test Kitchen includes several variations.  For the recipe and more detailed instructions, visit Clare’s blog.

Aside from the time it took to make the crust (which really isn’t much), the quiche whipped together in no time.  I decided to substitute parsley for the chives because I had it on-hand.  The only thing I failed to read was that it should cool for at least 1 hour before serving….and I planned to have it out of the oven just in time for dinner.  Needless to say, dinner was a little late that night!

And what did the troops think?  Two thumbs up from Joseph and Emmy, one thumb up from Owen, and two thumbs in the middle for Ryan.  And you guessed it….I didn’t eat any.  Sorry…the weird texture is just too much for this palate to handle.

The only thing I’d do different next time is add some more veggies.  This was just the basic recipe with eggs and cheese and Joseph said it was a little boring.

 

2 Responses to “Bake 52 Week 1: Quiche”

  1. Amanda Says:

    You are so funny, I can’t believe you didn’t eat it after all that work. At least most of the family liked it, I guess. 🙂 It looks great.

  2. jen Says:

    super cute kids!!! And I also substituted parsley for the chives… so glad to see someone else did that. 🙂 And seriously!?!? After all that work, you didn’t eat it?? Too funny!!

Leave a Reply

