Bake 52 Week 3: Boston Cream Cupcakes

I’m quickly learning some things about myself as a baker. First of all, I tend to skim recipes and then dive in. Not a good idea, as I usually find something important that I missed. For example, today’s recipe calls for whole milk. I have 1%. I can add some half and half to make whole milk, but I don’t have any of that. Which brings me to my next realization. I don’t have the best stocked pantry or refrigerator for baking. Which is fine….but it’s proving to be a hinderance to my baking. And yet, it’s not like I’m going to keep whole milk or half and half on-hand “just in case”. I guess that brings me back to “read the recipe” before starting to bake. And that brings me to my next realization. When I’m ready to bake, I want to bake. Had I read today’s recipe, I would have known that I would need to leave the eggs and milk on the counter for a couple of hours so that they would be room temperature. And that meant I had to get busy mopping the floor or doing some other chore that I was planning to put off in favor of baking cupcakes.

All that aside, my cupcakes finally did get made. Minus the whole milk (hope the 1% didn’t ruin all my hard work…I suppose we’ll never know the difference). I’ve decided that I need a new muffin tin. I had enough batter to make 15 cupcakes, so I had to use my half-size muffin tin in addition to my regular one. The smaller tin is a dark, non-stick tin and there was a marked difference in the appearance of the cupcakes that came out of that compared to those in my light-colored tin….they looked much more appetizing. See the difference?

When I pulled the cupcakes out of the tin to cool, their weight and texture reminded me of my favorite French breakfast muffins….a little heavy and kind of springy. Which made me wonder if the French muffin recipe would work just as well for the cupcake portion of the Boston Cream Cupcakes…..it’s certainly easier to make!

I should have taken a picture before I poured the chocolate on to show how the recipe suggested filling the center of the cupcake.  It was very simple to do, much easier than force filling from the bottom of the cupcake.  I used a pastry bag with a large cake decorating tip to fill the cupcakes and that worked very well.  I had a little bit of trouble getting the chocolate to spread over the top and drip down the sides. I even warmed it up a bit more so that it would pour more easily, but it seemed to just clump on the top. I had to use a spatula to spread it out, which made them look not quite as pretty as the picture in the cookbook.

I’m not much of a fan of chocolate (I know….commence with the tomato throwing), so I skipped eating one that had been topped. I was a little nervous to take a bite because the filling didn’t smell very good to me when I was whipping it up and I was worried it would taste like it smelled. Thankfully, it didn’t. It was delicious! The kids gobbled them up as fast as they could! Joseph felt like the bittersweet chocolate was maybe a little too strong and overpowering, but the filling made up for it!

This is a little bit of a labor intensive recipe. I can’t see making these again just for the heck of it (on top of being labor intensive, they aren’t cheap!), but I think they would make a really great dessert to take to a party that will be a real crowd-pleaser.

This week’s host was Amanda…a quick stop by her blog will get you the recipe and more detailed directions!

4 Responses to “Bake 52 Week 3: Boston Cream Cupcakes”

  1. Jen Says:

    I am so with you on not having a stocked pantry!! I was making the weirdest substitutions when it came to the glaze because I hadn’t read very well, either! I think my glaze must have turned out sweeter as a result. I really loved it. 🙂

  2. bekah Says:

    I LOVED the pastry cream too. Time consuming, but worth it.

  3. Amanda Says:

    This week must have been the week of substitutions! I am glad you got to eat some of this one.

  4. Audrey Crisp Says:

    How fun! Love these recipes!

Leave a Reply

