Bake 52 Week 5: 7-Layer Bars

This week’s host, Jesse, chose 7-Layer Bars. Picky ‘ol me likes exactly 3 ingredients in this recipe–graham crackers, Rice Krispies, and butter. So they went to work with Joseph again. His co-workers are really starting to love me!

I haven’t dared add the up the cost of all of this baking-from-scratch stuff, but I couldn’t help myself this week. I was doing my regular grocery shopping when I bought the ingredients and these bars ate up a big chunk of my budget! The only things I didn’t have to buy were graham crackers, butter, and vanilla. I actually had some chocolate chips, but wanted to buy more to replace what I would use from my own stockpile. I went with generic brands as available (which I think was everything but the toffee) and the total for the ingredients was just over $20! OUCH! Add a few more bucks if I’d needed to buy the 3 ingredients I already had on-hand….this is not a cheap dessert! Granted, there was a full-box-minus-one-cup of Rice Krispies left and a little bit of chocolate chips, but still, not cheap.

One of our at-home bakers made these last week and commented that 2 cans of sweetened condensed milk were a little overwhelming for her.  The Test Kitchen chefs felt that one can was not enough.  I was initially going to go with a happy medium of 1 1/2 cans, but I wasn’t sure what I’d do with the remaining 1/2 can, and I didn’t want to just toss it. So I went with one can, and in spite of the Test Kitchen chef’s warnings not to, I don’t think it ruined the recipe.

Toasted coconut….a first for me.

Had the recipe ended here, I probably would have eaten it.  Even though I don’t like toffee.  It smelled sooooo good coming out of the oven!

In the oven…

Once they were completed, these looked 100%, without a doubt, unappetizing to me. I had zero desire to even take a little nibble to test them out. But Joseph was drooling before they even came out of the oven.

He took them to work the next morning and said they were recieved with rave reviews.

My favorite thing about this recipe?  It took far less time than the recipes in the last couple of weeks.  My least favorite?  The cost.

If these puppies look yummy to you, head on over to Jesse’s blog for the recipe!

4 Responses to “Bake 52 Week 5: 7-Layer Bars”

  1. Amanda Says:

    maybe you need to have everyone at his work chip in a dollar a week for the goodies! Especially if you don’t get to eat any! I think you are going to like next week’s recipe! 😉

  2. Jen Says:

    Those look so yummy!! I agree with Amanda, you should start charging for them if you aren’t making them for your family!! 🙂

  3. Jen O'Neal Says:

    Well, Jen, yours looked more appetizing then mine did. I give you two thumbs up for making it.

  4. bekah Says:

    They looked great! We loved them too.

Leave a Reply

