Bake 52 Week 8: Peanut Butter Cookies

When I saw that my cute neighbor Jen picked peanut butter cookies for her week to host, I was excited.  Who doesn’t love a good cookie recipe?  I don’t bake peanut butter cookies with much frequency, but I was looking forward to making something a little more basic this week and hoping that maybe a great new cookbook would give me some tips to keep my cookies from baking up flat.

I failed on that front.  Mine turned out flat.  I even added extra flour after the first batch came out of the oven.  Still flat.  To be fair though, I did alter the recipe from the original, so maybe that played a part (we’ll blame that even if it really is due to user error 😉 ).

As I’ve stated in the past, I think it’s a sin to put nuts in baked goods. If you want to ruin a baked good in the blink of an eye, put nuts in it. Apparently, the Test Kitchen chefs think it’s a sin to not load peanut butter cookies up with nuts. I’ll give them a pass this one time, given that they are peanut butter cookies. But nobody in my house would eat them with nuts, so not only did I use creamy peanut butter, I omitted the cup full of chopped peanuts. And even if they were flat, they were YUMMY! I need to try my stand-by peanut butter cookie recipe soon so that I can decide which I like best.

If anybody has any tips for me on how to make my cookies come out of the oven with a little more dimension, I would love to hear it!

For this week’s recipe, visit Jen’s blog!

2 Responses to “Bake 52 Week 8: Peanut Butter Cookies”

  1. Amanda Says:

    Mine were flat too! I wonder if it does have to do with the nuts. I did use chunky peanut butter, but when Tyler saw that there were also chopped up peanuts going in, he drew the line and I ended up pretty much pureeing them instead of chopping. Almost like adding an extra dose of peanut butter. Other than that I have no idea. Yours look delicious either way and at least your crosshatch is still there. 🙂

  2. Jen O'Neal Says:

    I used to have the flat cookie problem. I don’t anymore and to be honest I can’t tell you what changed it. . . recipe maybe, but we used the same recipe here and mine were not flat. I a stumped to Jen. My only other thought is I started to follow cookie recipes to the tee.

    On the other hand I am thrilled you liked them and we did too. I hope my kids didn’t eat them all when they were there. LOL

Leave a Reply

