Bake 52 Week 9: Babka

I was kind of dragging my feet when it came to making this recipe…for some reason, it just didn’t look that good to me (probably that silly nut issue again).  Had I only known how yummy it would be!

I did leave the walnuts out of about 1/3 of the roll, just so that I could at least enjoy a little bit.  And I’m glad I didn’t leave them out of more because I would have eaten the entire two loaves in one sitting if those walnuts hadn’t been there to deter me.  Joseph took the rest to work……….

One downside that could be seen as an upside to this recipe is that the dough has to chill for 10-24 hours.  At first I thought that was a pain, having to stretch the process out so long….and if you need a dessert quick, then it is a pain.  But, it’s also kind of nice to know of a recipe that you can start ahead of time.  The assembly didn’t really take that long or make a very big mess, so day 2 of work wasn’t that bad.

For those of you concerned about heart attacks, be warned that this recipe calls for 2 full sticks of butter.  Really, how can anything with that much butter taste bad?  But it did kind of turn my stomach to see it all mush together in my mixer.  However, all of those thoughts were long gone by the time the babka came out of the oven.

The recipe instructs waiting for 2 hours for the babka to cool before serving, which I think is a crime.  This is the sort of thing meant to be eaten warm out of the oven!  My initial taste was from the heal of the loaf.  It was a little dry and crumbly, and quite frankly, disappointing.  But my next bite was a little bit of heaven.  YUMMY!  The overall effect is similar to cinnamon rolls, but this bread is heavier and sweeter and just downright delicious.  Joseph proclaimed that he liked it better than cinnamon rolls and I might have to agree with him.

Michelle was this week’s host….hop on over to her blog for a recipe worth trying!

4 Responses to “Bake 52 Week 9: Babka”

  1. Amanda Says:

    We loved it too, I think it has to be the dough that makes it so good! All that butter and sour cream (I love anything with sour cream!) Your loaves look beautiful! It did help to half the recipe and see only a stick of butter going in. 🙂

  2. Michelle Says:

    So glad you liked it! It makes it worth all the work – and time! 🙂

  3. Jen Says:

    I agree with you– this may top cinnamon rolls for me!! It was so surprisingly delish!! I loved it, two sticks of butter or not!! 🙂

  4. bekah Says:

    I’m with you… it MUST be eaten hot. Couldn’t believe that the recipe stated that it should cool for 2 hours. Your bread looks great. We really loved this one too.

Leave a Reply

