Bake 52 Week 14: Tres Leches Cake

First off, I must apologize for my lack of pictures with this post.  Sometimes my house seems like chaos when I’m trying to bake and picking up the camera for a picture or three would simply put me over the edge!

Even with my limited Spanish, I knew right off that this cake was going to have plenty of milk in it. After reading the recipe, I figured there was a good chance that it would be too rich for my taste buds, but the whipped topping sure did look yummy!

I wish the recipe would have suggested using a saucepan to make the milk mixture. My sweetened condensed bubbled up and overflowed in the microwave, making a HUGE sticky mess. An hour or so later, my sister called with a question on the recipe and said the same thing happened to her. I think it would have been just as effective to do that step on the stove and MUCH easier to monitor!

The cake itself turned out quite nicely. I’ve not had the best luck in the past making homemade cake, so I was a little apprehensive this time too. It took the full 35 minutes for mine to bake all the way through, but it didn’t fall flat or look weird when it was done.

The cake smelled sooooo yummy when it came out of the oven and it kind of pained me to pour the milk mixture over it. But I did it anyway. And then gagged a little over how soggy I was sure it would be when it came time to eat.

After 3 or so hours in the fridge, I pulled the cake out for our FHE treat. While the kids played “Mother May I?” I whipped (and whipped, and whipped, and whipped….2 minutes was NOT enough to get the soft peaks the recipe called for) up the topping and spread it on the cake. We cut up some strawberries to top each slice.

I was a bit apprehensive about the soggy cake, but I was excited about the whipped topping. As it turned out, the cake was delicious (a little soggy in parts, but overall not bad) and the whipped topping made me want to puke. I did NOT care for it….and I’m not sure if it was the recipe itself or an issue with my cream (afterall, it took more like 10 minutes to whip up right). I would have been happier with Cool Whip on top! The cake was rich, so I couldn’t finish an entire piece, but everyone else ate 2, with moans and groans about how good it was.

Joseph took the remainder to work the next morning and by 10:00 I had the following text: “Your cake is being hailed as your best dessert yet :)”.  So I guess it was pretty good.  One of his co-workers spent some time in Guatamala and had eaten authentic Tres Leches cake several times and said that it’s too soggy for her taste in South America, but this cake was just right.  I’d call this one a hit…and simple enough to make over and over!

Amanda stepped up to the plate and hosted this week even though it wasn’t her turn….thank you Amanda!  Check out her blog for the yummy recipe!

document.write(”);

4 Responses to “Bake 52 Week 14: Tres Leches Cake”

  1. Valerie Says:

    My sweetened condensed milk bubbled over in the microwave too. Also I kept switching out the sran wrap but toward the end it was practically melted to the side of my bowl. I like your idea of doing it on the stove.

  2. Amanda Says:

    I bet cool whip would be delicious! That looks sooo good with strawberries on top!

  3. Jen Says:

    Your cake with that strawberry on top looks perfect!! I also like the idea of the milk mixture done on the stovetop– mine was just weird and I didn’t think cooking it looked like it did much!

  4. bekah Says:

    Your cake looks great. Good idea to put strawberries on top. I also had a problem with my SC milk making a huge mess in the microwave. Stovetop would have been a much better suggestion… or maybe a note to watch constantly while in the microwave.

Leave a Reply

