Bake 52 Week 15: Chocolate Blackout Cake

Wow! Can you believe we are 15 weeks into the year? I can’t. I also can’t believe that I have baked something every week for 15 weeks straight….that’s more than I’ve baked in probably the last 5 years combined!

This week’s host was Courtney, and since I know that she doesn’t really care much for chocolate either, I know I won’t offend her when I say that my excitement level to make this cake was non-existent. When you add my distaste for chocolate to the fact that I don’t really love cake much either, this week’s pick left me sorely lacking motivation. But, being the stalwart that I am, I made it anyway.

I knew that the only day I had to make this week’s recipe was Tuesday. The busiest day of my week. The day that I had to get Emmy to ballet, eat lunch at school with Ryan for Birthday Table, attend two IEP meetings, and go to a parent’s meeting for the spring track season….all in between the everyday duties of being a wife a mother (I only accomplished one load of laundry, unfortunately).

I did have time late Monday night to make the pudding. Turns out that the most important ingredient for me that night was burn cream and a bandaid. The recipe said to bring the pudding to a simmer, but for me it went from no hint of a bubble to exploding boiling without any warning. And my arm took the brunt of that explosion. Ouch! Thankfully this burn cream is amazing and I was out of pain in no time flat and there will be no blistering.

The cake was fairly simple to whip up. It was a pretty runny batter, but the recipe specified that it should be, so I knew I was on the right track. I don’t have any 8-inch cake pans, so I improvised with my 9-inch springform pan. My layers are a little thinner because of that, but it worked just fine.

One thing I was grateful for with this cake is that it is covered in cake crumbs. For me, that meant covering up my botched frosting job. My pudding was a little lumpy and I would love to know the secret of frosting a cake without having the cake go crumbly….I have yet to master that art!

The crumb topping made for an interesting presentation….not sure I really found it pretty, but it was definitely interesting to look at….kind of like the cake was fuzzy.

As for flavor…it was chocolate overload. The recipe called for a cup of coffee to bring out the chocolate flavor. On principle, I substituted water instead, so maybe that altered the taste some, but I can’t imagine it being any more chocolatey than it was. I actually do enjoy chocolate pudding, but the pudding in this recipe didn’t really wow me….it wasn’t quite sweet enough for my taste buds. I was able to eat one little bite and felt that met my chocolate quota for the next 5 years or so.  My kids gobbled up their slices in under a minute, so they are either seriously chocolate-deprived, or the cake was actually good.

If you are a chocolate-lover, I would bet that you’ll love this cake.  I was anticipating a much more difficult recipe to put together, but it really wasn’t too bad, nor was it as expensive as I thought a chocolatey-chocolate cake would cost.  If you want the recipe, check out Courtney’s blog.

 

4 Responses to “Bake 52 Week 15: Chocolate Blackout Cake”

  1. Amanda Says:

    That is a bummer that you got burned. Thanks for the burn cream tip though, that is a daily occurrence around here. You’d think I would be getting better about injuring myself in the kitchen, but no. Have any miracle cures for a grated thumb nail? I seriously grated it right down my nail and into my thumb. Now my nail keeps getting caught on things and is threatening to rip half my thumb off with it. Anyway, that is neither here nor there. Your cake layers look ridiculously perfect. Being a chocolate lover myself, I also think it looks delicious!

  2. Jen Says:

    You make it look effortless– so sorry to hear about the burn!

  3. Em Says:

    I like your “fuzzy” cake 🙂

    As for the tip with frosting: What I’ve learned is to first frost a really thin layer everywhere to help “contain” the crumbs. Let it set for a little while (pudding doesn’t set much, but frosting does), then you go over it with your real layer of frosting. Also, you’re supposed to wipe off your frosting knife any time you get crumbs attached to it so they don’t transfer to the cake.

  4. Bake 52 Week 36: Tunnel of Fudge Cake | ZollyZoo…In The Kitchen Says:

    […] nearly skipped this week.  I felt about as much excitement to make this cake as I did the Chocolate Blackout Cake back in week 15.  I can’t help it…I just don’t like chocolate that much.  […]

Leave a Reply

