Bake 52 Week 20: French Macaroons

This week’s host was Betsy, and she chose French Macroons. They were a tad pricey, due to the need to use almond flour, but not so much that they wouldn’t be worth making for a special occasion. The end result is a cute little sandwich cookie.

The recipe itself was pretty simple….it takes a little time, simply because the formed cookies need to sit for an hour or two before baking, but nothing was very complicated.  One step I forgot when making my cookies was to smooth out the tops, which resulted in cookies that resembled a part of the female anatomy. Joseph had fun trying to come up with a more approrpiate name for how they looked. They were apparently a big hit at the office, whether due to taste or appearance, I don’t know 😉

Well, OK….it was due to taste.  I probably shouldn’t insult the all-male-but-two office that Joseph works in.  The final result was a cookie with a slightly crisp outer shell and a dense chewy middle.  I was surprised by the texture, but found it to be quite pleasing.

My own taste buds were rather turned off by the buttercream icing when I licked the beater (I used the recipe suggested by the book), but the cookies helped temper the overwhelming butter flavor. I’m not sure I’d use this buttercream recipe again…I wasn’t really a fan. It didn’t ruin the cookie, but I think next time I’ll experiment with something different.

Because I have leftover almond flour, I think I’ll make another batch of these up and freeze them for later. I’ll probably make up a smaller batch of frosting and only sandwich half of them….I think I’d really enjoy these cookies on their own.

If you’d like to give them a whirl, hop on over to Betsy’s blog for the recipe!

document.write(”);

2 Responses to “Bake 52 Week 20: French Macaroons”

  1. Amanda Says:

    That’s one way to get a bunch of men to like a cookie! 🙂 So funny. Glad you liked the cookies. I think I would have been more likely to like the frosting if I hadn’t known how much butter was going into it. Ignorance is sometimes bliss.

  2. bekah Says:

    I’m with you, I didn’t like the butterceam. But it was fun to try a new recipe… the cookies were fun. Glad the “guys at work” liked them.

Leave a Reply

