Bake 52 Week 23: Coconut Macaroons

This week’s pick was pretty quick and easy–my kind of recipe! Just a handful of ingredients and steps and you have yourself a cute little cookie.  I’m not a big coconut fan though. It’s more a texture thing than a taste thing….and yet, I can manage to burn through an entire box of Samoas by myself in no time flat.

I shaped a few of these cookies in haystacks and dipped the bottoms in chocolate, trying to match the picture in the book. They didn’t turn out so hot. My haystacks weren’t very pretty and when I tried to dip them in the chocolate, they kind of suctioned themselves to the bottom of the bowl and the tops would fall off when I tried to pull them out. I finally resorted to just spreading some chocolate on the bottom and calling it good. The rest were just the little round ball cookies and they were a breeze.

Had these been more of a regular cookie with ground up coconut to add flavor, I think I would have liked them. But the whole cookie was coconut, which was just too much for me.

Emily was this week’s host, and even though these aren’t cookies I’d ever make for myself, they are simple and pretty and I will likely make them again to share with friends.  Check out her blog for the recipe!

2 Responses to “Bake 52 Week 23: Coconut Macaroons”

  1. Jen Says:

    They look great to me! I had a hard time with the chocolate, too. I like your tip. 🙂

  2. Amanda Says:

    I am with Jen, I think they look great! That is a lot of coconut if you don’t like it in the first place.

Leave a Reply

