Bake 52 Week 25: Southern-Style Skillet Cornbread

I’m kind of glad that I’ve had a bad experience with a recipe that I’ve chosen so that I don’t feel so bad not liking someone else’s recipe.  This cornbread was a doozie for us.  I had high hopes.  I actually quite like cornbread, though we don’t eat it often.  The recipe called for using a cast iron skillet, which I don’t have, so I just used a heavy casserole dish.  That seemed to work just fine, though I imagine that the outer crust would have been crustier with a skillet.

The recipe itself was actually pretty easy.  Just a few ingredients and quick to put together.  It was fun to watch as I poured the batter into the hot dish and see the edges start baking up before it was even back in the oven.

While the bread was cooling, it dawned on me that I hadn’t put any sugar in the bread, so I quickly pulled out my recipe book to make sure I hadn’t missed it.  Whew…I hadn’t!  But that was the point that I started to become a little leery about how this bread would taste….and for good reason.

It’s important to note that the cornbread I’m used to is slightly sweet.  So imagine my surprise when I took a bite of this bread and felt like I might as well be eating cornmeal right out of the container.  Bland, bland, bland.  There seriously was no flavor at all.  Not even a little butter helped.  And it would have taken more honey than my taste buds can handle to sweeten this stuff up to the point that it would have been edible.  My kids all took one bite and screwed their faces up.  Not even Joseph was impressed enough to have more than one piece.  Needless to say, the rest of the bread went into the trash, which is a shame because it was actually quite pretty.

I’m not sure what southerners do with their cornbread…Joseph said maybe it would be good sitting in a bowl of stew…but this one will definitely NOT be going on my to-bake-again list.  I think I’ll stick with my Lehi Roller Mills mix for next time!

Jen was this week’s host…and I’ll forgive her for offending my taste buds (I at least tasted the final product, which is more than I can say for some recipes!).  I hope everyone else liked it better.  If you’ve got a great use for flavorless cornbread, head on over to Jen’s blog for the recipe!

3 Responses to “Bake 52 Week 25: Southern-Style Skillet Cornbread”

  1. Valerie Says:

    I am with you we did not really like it either. I am definitely use to cornbread with sugar.

  2. Jen Says:

    Thanks for trying it!

  3. amanda Says:

    I am glad Jen didn’t really like it either! It’s funny that foods from different areas are so different.

Leave a Reply

