Bake 52 Week 28: Fresh Fruit Tart

We skipped last week due to the holiday.  A few die-hards made 4th of July desserts, but I enjoyed the week off :).

We’re picking back up this week with a fresh fruit tart, which looked sooooo yummy to me!  I’ve never made a tart before, so I was excited to try this recipe out.

The day I was planning to bake was HOT….triple digits hot…and my A/C froze up on us, so I couldn’t bear the thought of turning my oven on when my house was 85°.  I waited until late that night when it cooled down some to whip up the tart crust and get it in the fridge, hoping that the A/C would thaw out overnight and I’d be able to bake the next day.  Thankfully it did!

The recipe said to take the chilled dough out and let it sit for about 10 minutes before rolling it out.  I learned quickly that if you’re not fast with working with tart dough, it will make your life miserable.  After the 10 minutes were up, it was still a bit firm and difficult to roll….but less than a minute or two later, it was so soft that it kept cracking and tearing while I attempted to roll it out.

I did lots of patching to fill in the places where the dough had torn or pulled away.  I figured it wouldn’t be a big deal in the long run because it would be filled with yummy goodness after it’s baked anyway.  I didn’t get a picture of the unfilled, baked crust, but it turned out just fine.

Aside from my struggle with the crust, the remainder of the tart went together quite easily.  I was unable to find either apple or red currant jelly at the store, so I just used the raspberry preserves I already had in my fridge.  I think the point of the jelly is to give the fruit a nice sheen, so probably anything you have on hand would work.

This tart isn’t a quick dessert to make, due to various cooling/chilling times needed, but the end result is REALLY pretty!  And I’m sure glad that I bought an extra package of raspberries, because Emmy and I nearly consumed an entire one ourselves after assembling the tart!

If nothing but the presentation of this recipe counted, it would score a 10!  See what I mean?  PRETTY!

Since presentation isn’t everything, we of course had to dig in for a taste.  28 weeks into this project, and I think it’s probably one of my favorite dessert recipes yet!  It was SO yummy!  The crust was like a delicious, crispy sugar cookie….the cream filling was perfectly sweet….and the berries were divine!  I was pretty full after one piece, but Emmy gobbled up two big ones in no time flat!  Even Ryan, who has become my least willing to try new things, liked his (with the exception of the raspberries, which I knew he didn’t like anyway).

Amanda was this week’s host and she hit a homerun at our house….check out her blog for this awesome recipe!

document.write(”);

 

9 Responses to “Bake 52 Week 28: Fresh Fruit Tart”

  1. Talesha Says:

    It looks like a lot of us had trouble with the dough. Yours turned out absolutely perfect, though! Good job!

  2. Amanda Says:

    It looks perfect! Glad you guys liked it, I am always curious to see what you think. 🙂

  3. Janet Says:

    It looks just like the picture in the cookbook. Good job!

  4. allison jossie Says:

    Can you please send one express to Oklahoma?! That looks AWESOME….especially since all I feel like eating this pregnancy is fruit!

  5. Valerie Says:

    So pretty!!

  6. Em Says:

    Yours is so pretty! Glad you liked it. Wasn’t the crust delicious?

  7. Jen Cox Says:

    Wow! The fruit looks so amazing!!. I love it!

  8. Jen O'Neal Says:

    I had the same problem with my dough as well. Annoying eh, but you are right it was so good!

Leave a Reply

