Bake 52 Week 29: Cinnamon Rolls

This was a yummy week.  While I never crave things like cake, or cookies, or pie, I do loooove bread-based baked goods.  I have yet to come across the perfect cinnamon roll recipe, but this one was close.  They were yummy!

A fun addition to the cinnamon/sugar mixture was cloves.  At first, I wasn’t quite sure how I felt about that.  The rolls smelled so different from traditional cinnamon rolls while they were baking and every so often I’d get a whiff of the cloves and realize that was the difference.  I was pleasantly surprised when I ate one though…the cloves were subtle, but just there enough to add a little extra punch to the flavor.  I’m not sure I’d add them every time, but it was a nice deviation from the norm.

I’ve grown tired of the amount of butter that all this baking we’ve been doing has used, so I decided to skip brushing the dough with butter before sprinkling the sugar on it….instead, I used the technique we learned with the cinnamon loaf and just sprayed it with water.

My roll turned out a little longer than the 18″ the recipe called for, and I wondered if I had maybe not made it fat enough when I wound up with three extra rolls and they still didn’t fill the pan.  They looked much better after rising, but there was still space to spare in the pan. And maybe it’s because I don’t have any good, sharp knives in my kitchen, but I don’t know why anybody would want to slice the rolls with a knife when we all know that using dental floss is such a slick little trick for slicing cinnamon rolls (we all know that, right?).

I know Amanda will probably drive all the way from California to throw tomatoes at me when I say this, but I REALLY don’t like cream cheese.  Nothing ruins frosting for me like cream cheese, and since the glaze for these cinnamon rolls called for cream cheese, I opted to use a different glaze recipe.  The end result was delicious and we all enjoyed a roll (or two) after lunch.

The recipe says to dump the rolls out of the pan to cool before adding the glaze. Unless I were going to serve these right away to enough people to eat them quickly, I’d leave them in the pan. We found that they dried out pretty fast just sitting on a cooling rack.

Valerie was this week’s host….check out her blog for this great recipe!

document.write(”);

3 Responses to “Bake 52 Week 29: Cinnamon Rolls”

  1. Amanda Says:

    They look perfect. I would never throw tomatoes at you! Why ruin a perfectly good tomato? I might throw beets, I hate beets. 😉 I was laughing at that. See and I thought the glaze needed more cream cheese. I guess everyone has their own cream cheese opinion. Crazy or not. 😉

  2. Valerie Says:

    They look good.

  3. Jen Says:

    They look picture perfect! I loved these as well, and I wondered when we got to the butter step if the water spray would have worked and saved some calories! And hey- good luck with your upcoming delivery. Can’t wait to see pics of your new little babe!!

Leave a Reply

