Bake 52 Week 33: Raspberry Streusal Bars

I LOVE raspberries….but I don’t always love them in the form of ice cream or baked goods, so I was a little unsure how I’d like this recipe.  It was a pretty easy and quick one to make, with no crazy ingredients or instructions.  I decided to leave out the pecans on the topping.  I had planned to put them over half of the bars and leave the other half untainted, until I went to the store and saw that a little bag cost over $5….I’m a cheapskate, what can I say?

Once they came out of the oven, it occured to me that they actually looked and smelled quite a bit like Nutri-Grain Bars, which I quite like.  I had high hopes that they would taste like them too.  They didn’t quite live up to that expectation, but they were yummy.  Joseph LOVED them!  Couldn’t get enough of them…ate most of the pan himself.  Emmy was also a big fan.

One thing I like about this recipe is that these bars can be frozen for up to a month.  I think I’ll definitely be making some to freeze and use for school lunches.  I’m excited to try the strawberry and blueberry variations as well!

Jen O. was this week’s host, so check out her blog for a fun and easy recipe!

One Response to “Bake 52 Week 33: Raspberry Streusal Bars”

  1. Emily Says:

    They look good! I was going to leave the pecans out also, but then I remembered that when we were in SC they were falling off the trees like crazy and we walked around gathering nuts to bring home 🙂 Yeah, how nice would that be to be able to go out in your yard in the fall/winter and pick up all those expensive nuts. Anyway, I usually hate nuts in baked goods, but chopped finely, I thought they added some great flavor.
    I didn’t see that you could freeze them. Love that!

Leave a Reply

