Bake 52 Week 35: Crunchy Granola Bars

Granola bars are something I never really thought about ever being homemade, so I was curious how this recipe would turn out.  But…

1 1/2 cups of nuts!  Yikes!  I wasn’t very excited when I saw that on the ingredient list.  I can usually just leave the nuts out of a recipe, but 1 1/2 cups is a pretty significant exemption, so I opted to chop them up really good to hopefully disguise them.  I went with almonds because if I had to eat a nut, that’s the one I would choose.

This was a pretty darn easy recipe to put together.  I decided to try the cranberry variation, minus the crystallized ginger because I didn’t have any.  My bars turned very crunchy…in spite of the name of the recipe, I’m not sure if they were supposed to be as crunchy as they were, or if it was due to the fact that I was in the middle of feeding a baby when my timer went off and I had to bake them 5 minutes longer (which still put it within the 35-40 minute cooking time).  Either way, I hope nobody breaks a tooth on them!

Owen and Emmy were both big fans.  Ryan, not so much.  Joseph liked them, but did comment on how hard they were.  I might try these again sometime, maybe with some chocolate chips to entice Ryan a little more….I think they’d make a great snack to put in lunchboxes!

Emily was this week’s host.  Check out her blog for the recipe.


// <![CDATA[
document.write('’);
// ]]>

 

2 Responses to “Bake 52 Week 35: Crunchy Granola Bars”

  1. Emily Says:

    Yours look really good. They certainly were crunchy. They reminded me of the Nature’s Valley crunchy oats & honey bars. Well, they might have if mine hadn’t burned. I’ll have to get the recipe Diane uses. It’s much softer.

  2. Amanda Says:

    I was thinking the same thing about lunch boxes, they would be great. I bet you could just omit the nuts and add extra oats. I am with you, I wouldn’t bake mine as long next time. For either of the baking sessions.

Leave a Reply

