Bake 52 Week 36: Tunnel of Fudge Cake

I nearly skipped this week.  I felt about as much excitement to make this cake as I did the Chocolate Blackout Cake back in week 15.  I can’t help it…I just don’t like chocolate that much.  Plus, when I looked at the picture included with this recipe, I was sure that it was going to be a pretty involved process.  Thankfully, I was wrong on that point.  It was not much more involved than baking a regular cake….the amazing thing is that somehow, the middle stays all fudgy after it bakes (which I didn’t take a picture of…you’ll have to bake it to see it!).  And isn’t it pretty??

I was glad to have procrastinated this time around because Janet mentioned in her post that she used semisweet chocolate for the glaze and was happy with how that worked out.  When I got to the store to buy my ingredients, I discovered that semisweet chocolate was 1/3 the price of bittersweet.  Since I’m all for saving a buck, I bought the bittersweet for the cake and the semisweet for the glaze.  She also mentioned that she would leave the nuts out next time….and you all know I would have left them out regardless!

In spite of my dislike for chocolate, I did have a couple of bites of the finished product and it was actually pretty good.  Joseph loved it (and he’s not huge on chocolate either).  If you are a chocolate lover, this is the recipe for you!  Thanks Janet for such a fun pick….check out her blog for the recipe!

document.write(”);

 

Leave a Reply

