Bake 52 Week 37: Deep Dish Pizza

I committed a serious crime this week. Several, actually. I have been eyeing this pizza recipe since the day I first opened our recipe book. It looked soooo yummy, and given that pizza is at the top of my list of favorite foods, I knew I’d be trying this recipe whether it was chosen during Bake 52 or not. I was excited when Amanda chose it for this week.

Which leads me to crime #1….procrastination. I rarely wait until posting day to do my baking, but the week got away from me this time around and before I knew it, posting day is here. And I feel like garbage due to a kidney infection. And we ate Little Caesar’s at 9:00 last night because we were late getting home from pack meeting and I didn’t feel good enough to make dinner. I would have sent my kids to bed without dinner had they not brought it to my attention that I had failed to feed them. But, never fear, I was going to bake through my misery anyway and we’d have pizza for dinner two nights in a row (not that there’s ANYTHING wrong with that!).

Enter crime #2. I baked cookies on Saturday and used up every last speck of my flour. And then promptly forgot about it. So, as I prepared to make pizza for dinner tonight, I discovered that I was going to have to go to the store. But, I feel like garbage, and the last thing I wanted to do was load four kids up in the car and go to the store, where I’d have to exert my already pained back lifting a 25 lb. bag of flour into the cart.

The end result is crime #3….missing the posting deadline for this week’s recipe. I feel so much shame…not just the missed baking, but the food that I’m missing. If it were just the lack of flour, I’d grind up some wheat and attempt whole wheat deep dish pizza. But, combined with not feeling well, I didn’t want to start experimenting only to have it not turn out and have to come up with something else for dinner.

So, my apologies to the rest of the group for being a failure this week. I WILL make this recipe as soon as I’m feeling better and will report back when it’s done! In the meantime, head on over to Amanda’s blog to get the recipe!

One Response to “Bake 52 Week 37: Deep Dish Pizza”

  1. Amanda Says:

    It sounds like it was the right decision to wait! I hope you feel better soon and I hope it lives up to your expectations when you get around to it!

Leave a Reply

