Bake 52 Week 38: Make Ahead French Toast

On paper, this recipe looked pretty good, especially since I love French toast.  But like our host, Valerie, I anticipated a more traditional French toast as the end product.  As soon as I started scooping it out to put on plates, I knew there was no way on this green earth that I would be putting any of this casserole in my mouth.  It smelled good, but the soggy texture made my stomach turn.  Joseph grew up eating bread and milk and the kids love it too.  The thought of eating soggy bread makes me want to gag.  I had hoped that the kids’ affinity for bread and milk would influence their response to this casserole, but unfortunately, it didn’t.  None of them liked it, and I was just glad that the school serves breakfast in the classroom each morning, so I knew that they wouldn’t starve.  I tried to bribe them to finish eating by saying that they could ride their scooters to school–which is a big deal for my kids–and they still didn’t finish.

I had high hopes for this recipe, and I’m sad that it didn’t meet my expectations.  If it sounds like something you’d like to try, head on over to Valerie’s blog for the recipe.

document.write(”);

4 Responses to “Bake 52 Week 38: Make Ahead French Toast”

  1. Valerie Says:

    Well I am glad your kids did not starve over the recipe. But that is funny they wouldn’t even eat it for a very coveted treat.

  2. Amanda Says:

    Haha! I love that you tried to bribe them, it makes me feel better about my parenting abilities. 🙂 One of my friends (who doesn’t have kids) told me the other day that she had heard it’s bad to bribe your kids. I said, “Well, I guess I am out of the running for Mom of the Year!” So close. Anyway, sorry you guys didn’t like it!

  3. Cynthia L Says:

    So sorry your kids didn’t like this recipe. I was not that fond of it either, glad I only made a half recipe. I did love the nut topping though.

Leave a Reply

