Bake 52 Week 39: Spiced Pumpkin Bread

What better way to kick off autumn than spiced pumpkin bread? Mmmmm!! I could smell it baking as soon as this week’s host make her pick. This recipe was a snap to whip up, and I was especially excited because it was a bit of a gloomy day…perfect for a bread like this. It smelled soooo yummy while it baked, and the toothpick came out practically clean when the timer went off. I left the bread to cool in the pan for 10 minutes, and then turned it out on a cooling rack. I had followed the recipe to a tee. So, imagine my nervousness when, as I turned it out onto the cooling rack, the center of the bread wiggled a bit like jello and then started to sag. I left it a few minutes more to cool, and then, as I attempted to flip the bread over, my worst fears were confirmed. The edges of the bread pulled away to reveal that entire middle had not baked fully. My heart sunk. Utter diasppointment filled my soul. My beautiful, delicious-smelling bread was nothing short of a disaster. Nothing like having your day ruined by 10 am.

I’m not sure why my toothpick came out clean, because the middle of my bread was clearly unbaked.  I’ve never had that happen before.  I was able to eat around the edges of the bread, where it had  baked fully, and it was yummy, but a little less spicy than I would have liked.  I think when I try this one again, I’ll up the spice content a bit.

Thanks Talesha for such a fun fall recipe….I can’t believe I ruined it!  Can’t wait to try it again!

document.write(”);

4 Responses to “Bake 52 Week 39: Spiced Pumpkin Bread”

  1. Cynthia L Says:

    I found that I had to bake my bread longer than the recipe said. So sorry your bread did not turn out. I hope you will give it another try. It is worth it!

  2. Valerie H. Says:

    Bummer! Mine is in the oven right now. I will have to double check it to make sure it cooks long enough.

  3. Amanda Says:

    I felt like I had to bake the mini loaves longer than I thought and then I thought I had baked them too long when I took them out. But they were still moist. I am glad you got to enjoy some of your bread, sorry it didn’t work out!

  4. Jennifer O. Says:

    Oh, Jen I hate it when things don’t go as planned! I could feel my heart melt as I read your blog. I baked my a bit longer then the shorter time requested as well. I guess that is your tip for next time. You will also have to tell me if more spice is better or not. I loved it the way it was but I am always up to see if it could be even better. 🙂

Leave a Reply

